We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant and cozy!”
other travellers have booked this property
French window and French doors opening onto garden courtyard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
French window and French doors opening onto garden courtyard.
The ideal Paris vacation apartment. 17th century stone walls and oak beams characteristic of the Marais.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
French window and French doors opening onto garden courtyard.
The ideal Paris vacation apartment.
17th century stone walls and oak beams characteristic of the Marais.
Antique hand-carved bed, with new high quality mattress, 100% cotton sheets.
The charming, well-equipped kitchen.
Modern appliances, plenty of space for cooking wonderful meals.
View from the kitchen to front door, windows, French doors.
Elegant, modern bath.
Large bathtub w/hand shower wand, and separate luxurious overhead shower.
View from courtyard toward apartment door (open) and windows.
Rare 17th c. 'colombage' in the courtyard -- the way all of Paris once looked!
Just around the corner from the apartment...
The splendid Picasso Museum, just steps away.
The Rue Charlot, a narrow street in the Marais full of interesting shops.
A few doors down, the oldest open air market in Paris! A real treat.
Your local boulangerie -- so good, there's sometimes a line out the door.
In the window of the same boulangerie on another day.
Romantic! This famous fountain is less than ten minutes walk from the apartment.
3 minutes walk from the apt! Ask me about accessing the secret gardens here.
Inside the fabulous cheese shop, right on the corner. One of the best in Paris.
Lunch inside the Marche des Enfants Rouges, a vibrant spot!
Organic bread stand, Marche des Enfants Rouges.
One of 17 (yes, 17!) gardens within a few 100m of the apt. Several are secret!
The convivial Cafe Charlot. There are many other cafes on the same street.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Paris, Ile-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Richard W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant and cozy!”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for six nights and every night was worth it. The location was just what we hoped for and all the amenities were above our expectations

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drlil L
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cottage and Courtyard in Paris”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Excellent location we lived like the locals for four days in Paris. We were greeted at the local café and escorted to our apartment.
We loved the local market with its fresh fruit and flowers.
A friendly café at the corner of the street and a short distance to the local supermarket that was very well stocked with fresh produce as well as selling a variety of wines.
The use of the landline phone was very helpful to keep in contact with overseas as well as to make local calls. The recommendations of the G7 taxis was excellent with English speaking receptionists' and cab drivers.
The security was excellent, we felt safe and secure the location so private and peaceful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, ambiance communication with english speaking owner.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave comments, and for mentioning the peace and quiet and how safe you felt -- things the photos can't show!

Best wishes, Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelbr...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Neighborhood and wonderful (but noisy) apartment”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Located in an enchanting part of the Marais, truly a wonderful place to call home. Restaurants, shops, and boutiques surround you in this well appointed and comfortable apartment. Resting on the ground floor, there are few stairs to climb. Although we were told repeatedly by the owner to respect the privacy of others in the building (which we would have done without being told), we found that the neighbors above us loved to throw parties throughout the night. In the morning, they argued as loudly as their partied. So, if you are immune to being disturbed by the noise of those who live in the apartment building, then this is an absolute must!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2016
Having never had a complaint about noise in more than a decade of renting our apartment, I was surprised by your experience that one night. (As you told me in your email, it was just one party one night.) I called the woman who lives above, and she asked me to extend her apologies to you. It was, in fact, the first get-together she had hosted in a very long time. She explained that she had stepped out, and during that time some of her guests got carried away (which was the subject of the argument the next day). Of course, since you only stayed a couple nights, it was difficult for you to judge what is normal, but I can assure you that you just had bad luck and that there's never been a problem before or since. In fact, just to be sure, I've asked every visitor since your stay if there was any noise and everyone has said no. So, I hope you'll accept her apology. Also, just for future reference, disturbing the neighbors is taken very seriously in Paris, much more so than in many other places. It comes from centuries of living in high density urban environments like Paris. Practically speaking, that means that complaints are responded to. So, should you ever experience nocturnal noise in Paris again, whether from another apartment or from the street, you should call the owners of the apartment where you are staying. In this case, I would have called the apartment in question and can pretty much guarantee that the noise would have abated immediately. If it did not, I would have called the owners of that apartment, and then the police. The latter do, in fact, respond to such complaints, generally sending an officer to knock on the door in question. In any event, we would welcome the chance to have you back so that you can have the normal experience of the surprising quiet that our other visitors have enjoyed in our apartment, despite being in the center of a big city. Being ensconced within stone walls off of a quiet little garden away from the street, it's a haven of peace. And that's the main reason we purchased it many years ago.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George D
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cozy quiet well located gem in the Marais”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

While I am reluctant to provide effusive praise as this will contribute to even longer book in advance times :) I would highly recommend this apartment. My only regrets are that we we only there for a 3 day stay and I ended up having to leave a Belgian beer for the next occupants :).

Chris was very professional and thorough in our dealings and was able to arrange an early bag dropoff for us as well as make taxi arrangements to the airport for our departure. This was our third trip to Paris and the first to use an apartment. The apartment was well laid out with attractive lighting and very homelike. It made me feel like a Parisian to walk to the bakery in the morning for the traditional baguette, visit the local grocery stores for supplies and visit the Caractère du Cochon for a traditional jambon-beurre at a very reasonable price returning to the apartment to listen to some classic jazz.

Art lovers will appreciate the proximity of the Picasso museum, the Musee Carnavalet and the Musée Cognacq-Jay with the latter two having free admission. If your stay includes a Sunday it certainly is worthwhile to walk over to the huge Bastille market. We certainly hope to be able stay at the apartment again on our next visit and explore the charming neighborhood more thoroughly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and apartment ambience
Liked least: long advance booking time
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean, and Comfortable!”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in the Marais Cottage in November of 2015. The apartment is clean, cozy, and comfortable, and has a lot of character. It is also very quiet, being situated on the interior courtyard of the building. The kitchen and bathroom have all that you need, including a washer and dryer. All of the appliances work, and work well! The shower has great water pressure and there is ample hot water (not always the case when I've stayed at other rentals in Europe). There is a large, clean bathtub, if you enjoy taking a bath after a long day of walking around Paris.

The neighborhood in which the apartment is situated has beautiful small shops, galleries, and cafes, as well as restaurants and markets. Again, all one needs for a comfortable, enjoyable stay is just around the corner.

Arriving from London, the apartment is an easy commute from Gare du Nord.

The owner is a pleasure to work with and was very accommodating when I arrived several hours later than planned, due to an error on my part in the transfer of information regarding my arrival time. Chris was gracious and hospitable, despite the inconvenience that I caused.

I would definitely recommend this apartment to others and I would be happy to stay again!

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing