We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 152)
Filter reviews
1 152 results
Traveller rating
333
538
181
53
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
538
181
53
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gare du comfort room jaures metro buttes chaumont around the corner super close underground station budget hotel bathroom floor inner courtyard clean hotel bus stop nice bathroom short stay spoke good english stayed here for nights long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1 152 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Our stay at the Libertel San Martin in Paris earlier this month was both the best of times and the worst of times. I wonder if this will make sense. A fantastic view, of Sacre Coeur in the distance, and an elevated Metro below. It didn't have the space of an Airbnb, nor the conveniences of a nicer hotel. No little refrigerator in the room, for example. Refurbished rooms, but still, the old carpets that could not possible be clean. In short, a place you would not want to spend the day in. But that is great, isn't it? You want to be out walking around the city or doing day trips, not napping in the hotel.

They had a ten Euro buffet breakfast; we used it only once, because of early departures for our day trips. And for ten Euros, you could also get a smaller continental breakfast at a neighborhood sidewalk cafe. Ambiance vs. quantity. You choose!

No, the neighborhood was ultimately the problem. Vibrant, exciting, always filled with people, but many homeless and people asking for money as well. One day, a woman wanting to get on the Metro pushed in behind us at the turnstile, to pass through on our fare. Scary, because it was an easy pickpocketing situation. Your hands are up and away from your pockets when you have to reclaim the Metro ticket from the turnstile. So the hotel does not have a system where the room key opens the lobby door. Not good! Three times in a row, one evening, next morning, and that night, we were locked out, or locked in, because the lobby clerk was off somewhere, seeing to an emergency or on a bathroom break. He had left no note on the door.

Actually, being locked in is scarier. What if there was a fire?

I understand that the turnstile lady could easily follow someone into the hotel, especially if the clerk was not there. The solution would be to have a back-up person always available. This hotel, for the price they charged, failed in that regard.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 435luzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipe-Libertel, Responsable relations clients at Libertel Canal Saint-Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Hello Luz,

Thank you for taking the time to share this very detailed personal feedback.

We are sorry you encountered an umconfortable situation in the metro, as it can indeed happen in all the big cities metro stations.

Please be sure we care about your safety:

- it is possible to call us 24/7, even while outside the hotel, at the phone number shared with you during the checkin.
- our hotel respects all the safety norms, a simple green emergency button is located on the left of the main door, to exit the building right away if needed.
- there is always one of our team members at the front desk. If we are called in one of the rooms for a fast intervention, we place a sign on the desk, saying we will be back in a few minutes, usually less than 5 minutes.
- if the main door is locked, an exterior intercom allows our dear guests to call us so we could open quickly.
- a security leader partner is checking all our five 3-star hotels monthly to make sure that everything is in order.

Please be sure that all our guests observations are duly noted, and that we do our best to answer our dear guests with the most accurate information possible.

Best regards
The Management - Libertel Canal Saint-Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

The lobby area is modern, the room space is small, the washroom is also small, but the cleanliness is superb. The hotel is located in an unexpectedly sketchy area, but it is very close to the metro station where you can easily hop on to visit the nearby attractions within 20 minutes.

Room tip: Very small room, but close to transit.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nify L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipe-Libertel, Responsable relations clients at Libertel Canal Saint-Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Hello Nify,

Thank you for your time and for sharing your personal impressions.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay overall, our hotel cleanliness, design, location. We care about providing you all the comfort needed so you clould make the most of Paris.

We invite our dear guests to look at our rooms information and pictures, to know more about their layout, areas, equipments.
Our team is at your service at the front desk to help you discover the neighborhood, Paris points of interest, transportation. You may also call us even while outside the hotel.

Please feel free to contact us anytime.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

We booked online into the Libertel Canal Saint Martin Hotel, 5 Avenue Secretan Paris.
It is an older building and we expected the room to be very small but were pleasantly surprised to find it was a reasonable size. We could both move around the bed without the other having to move out off the way. Most elderly buildings in Europe do not have a lot of room in the bedrooms this one does. We had a view of the back of many other buildings and a courtyard (rooftop( which had been covered in astro turf a pleasant spot of green in a sea of cream or white paint. the curtains were bock out so we slept very
well. It was not noisy in any way.There is a lift.
We had top pay the tourist tax and 10 Euros for breakfast but that was reasonable as it was a buffet style breakfast which suited everyone. We were very close to the canal Saint Martin and the Metro to get closer to the main areas of Paris we wanted to see again. We did not eat here as that was not an option just bed and breakfast.

Room tip: The front of the hotel rooms I imagine would be noisy as it is almost on a very busy intersection in Paris.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley-Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipe-Libertel, Responsable relations clients at Libertel Canal Saint-Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Dear Shirley-Ann,

All our team would like to thank you for this detailed and relevant feedback.
We are convinced it will help other travellers know more about our 3-stars hotel, just near the Canal Saint-Martin, transportation, and famous points of interest in Paris.

We were delighted to welcome you and to help you through your stay.

we remain at your disposal if you have any other information,
Best regards

Team Libertel Canal Saint-Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We stayed for a weekend, used it as a base camp to sleep. it is ideal for those visiting Paris on a budget, the room size was adequate , but had no cuboards but 2 shelves, and four hangers, The bathroom was small but beautifully decorated, with easy to use shower and sink, The bed was very cmfortable and we slept well all the time,It is ideally located across from the metro ,with a community of bars, shops and restaurants , these are mainly asian and indian, as it appears to be the African quarter. We enjoyed exploring the local community and prices were fairl and reasonable. There was a bar with excellant beer and food around the corner called Formidable,which we used alot.

Room tip: rooms on the inside and higher up are quieter , as the commity is 24/7
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Morrigan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipe-Libertel, Responsable relations clients at Libertel Canal Saint-Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Hello Morrigan,

Thank you for choosing Libertel and for this great feedback based on your experience.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed both your room and our hotel location, in a lively neighborhood indeed, with plenty of good restaurants, transportation, bars, shops...

We invite our dear guests to visit our brand new website hotels-libertel com to enjoy our best fares, best availabilities and special offers.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Team Libertel Canal Saint-Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights on our recent trip to Paris. When booking, they were running a deal that if you stayed 3+ nights, you could get a package that included breakfast. The breakfast was perfect for us and allowed us to get our day started early. They served an assortment of pastries, yogurts, hard boiled eggs, cheese, juices, and hot beverages. The staff at the desk were kind and helpful. Our room was very clean. The shower was one of the most spacious ones I have used in Europe, although there is no shower curtain, as others have mentioned. We put a towel on the floor and aimed the shower head downward and it wasn’t too bad. There is a hair dryer in the bathroom. I did notice the “smell” that other reviewers mentioned in the lobby when we first checked in, but did not notice any bad odor in our room. The hotel is just around the corner from the entrance to the Metro so transport within the city was easy. Would recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cmolnar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Equipe-Libertel, Responsable relations clients at Libertel Canal Saint-Martin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear guest,
thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed and great feedback after your stay with us.
We believe it will help other travellers making up their minds about our hotels Libertel.

We are very happy to hear about your satisfaction and knowing you would recommend us, at it seems you appreciated both our quality of products (self-service buffet breakfast, amenities) and quality of service (welcome, special offers on hotels-libertel com).
The smell you mentioned is very random indeed and very localised (only at the front desk), our technical team is doing its best so it should not last very long.

Our 5 3-stars hotels in Paris all benefit from a great location in downtown Paris, offering you the possibility to navigate easily all around the city.

At your service if you need anything, you are more than welcome to contact us.
Best regards
team Libertel Canal Saint-Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews