We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Palais de Chaillot(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$422
US$393
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Saint James Paris(Paris)
US$605
US$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$556/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$639
US$584
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Elysees Flaubert(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$403
US$394
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$163
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$144
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1 176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
126
208
78
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
208
78
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomgare du nordbed dormattached bathroombudget accommodationfree wifiluggage storageminute walkconvenient locationlobby areastayed one nightbeds were comfortablefantastic locationaround the cornerstationdormitorylift
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had previously stayed at the Smartplace and was very happy with the experience – the welcome was cordial, the room clean and comfortable. This stay was much less positive. The welcome was perfunctory. While it was nice to have a full double bed for one person and the room was very clean, there was nowhere to hang a jacket or a shirt. Worse, the outlets didn’t work unless the main room light was on – impossible then to charge a phone while sleeping, despite the conveniently-placed outlets next to the bed. The room was noisy, thanks to the paper-thin walls and the noise from the street with sirens all night long. The bathroom wasn’t as clean as the room itself with a fair bit of mould in the shower. Overall, a very disappointing experience and it wasn’t cheap either. I would definitely hesitate before booking again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank g109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart Place Par... |, Responsable réception at Smart Place Paris Gare du Nord by Hiphophostels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Xg109,
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.
We are happy that you liked our room and the cleanliness of our property.
We are sorry that you didn't completely appreciate your stay, actually we do have room with street view but we do have also backyards room and we always try to accomodate our guests in the best way, our reception is available 24 hours to satisfy your requests when possible.

If you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around; it would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our improved hotel.
Warm regards
Viviana FEBO
Front Office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good location only if you need to be beside Gare du nord, we had an early train so booked this hotel to be near the station as had a lot of luggages and wanted to avoid any surprises.
Double room is good yet bathroom very small
Good for only 1 or 2 nights max and only if u need to stay beside the station

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart Place Par... |, Responsable réception at Smart Place Paris Gare du Nord by Hiphophostels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Marina,
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.
We are also pleased to read you enjoyed our location, which is very central to all the best restaurants, cafes, bars and all that Paris has to offer. We are also just minutes away from Montmartre, and much more!

Warm Regards,
The Smart place Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

The hostel is okay. I stayed in a four bed female dorm and it was small. The safes were also not big enough for more than a few things and not a back pack.

The stuff were not overly friendly except for a lady who worked in the morning who wore glasses. She was polite and helpful.

The bonuses for this hostel is the proximity to Gare Du Nord and a lot of places to eat.

Also around a 10 minute walk to Sacre Coeur.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Carmypug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart Place Par... |, Responsable réception at Smart Place Paris Gare du Nord by Hiphophostels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Carmypug,

It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.
We were also pleased to read you enjoyed our location, which is very central to all the best restaurants, cafes, bars and all that Paris has to offer. We are also just minutes away from Montmartre, and much more!

Best Regards
The Smart Place Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

We only stayed in this hostel for one night, but chose it due to its great location. The hostel was very clean and although the room was small it had all the facilities we required. The check in/out process was very well organised. Overall, for the one night we were there, we were very happy with our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gone_wandering5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart Place Par... |, Responsable réception at Smart Place Paris Gare du Nord by Hiphophostels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear gone_wandering5
It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.

It was very rewarding to read that you found our reception to be very warm and accommodating to you throughout your stay with us. We have staff available 24-7 to assist you with all your requests.

We were also pleased to read you enjoyed our location, which is very central to all the best restaurants, cafes, bars and all that Paris has to offer. We are also just minutes away from Montmartre, and much more!
We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, and once again, thank you for your positive comments!

Warm Regards,
The Smart Place Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Never stayed in a hostel so wasn’t sure what to expect. We were four to a room and it was very snug. However it was clean and the staff very helpful. Shared kitchen area worked well and enjoyed the table football. Breakfast for four euro good value as well. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Scot185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart Place Par... |, Responsable réception at Smart Place Paris Gare du Nord by Hiphophostels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Scot 185,
It was a pleasure hosting you during your recent stay in Paris and thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.

It was very rewarding to read that you found our reception to be very warm and accommodating to you throughout your stay with us. We have staff available 24-7 to assist you with all your requests.
We are glad that you appreciated our kitchen and the cleanliness of our propery.

We hope to have the chance to host you again at ouir property.

Best Regards
The Smart place Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews