We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit but repetitive”

The Catacombs of Paris
Ranked #161 of 2 270 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A genuine labyrinth in the heart of underground Paris, the Catacombs were fitted out in the galleries of former quarries. Twenty metres underground, the ossuary houses the remains of approximately six million Parisians, gradually transferred between the end of the 18th century and the mid 19th century, as the capital's cemeteries were closed for health reasons. Along a tangle of dark galleries, visitors discover a presentation of death with bones arranged in a romantic macabre decor. This unique site is a moving testimony to the history of Parisians and invites visitors on a timeless journey.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

You will have to queue to get in if you haven't pre-purchased tickets. We had an hour wait in a queue that didn't look to long. You will walk down spiral stairs on entry and exit which may be a little tasking if you struggle walking. It's also a fair walk through the Catacombs and as will have been said in other reviews it's bones and more bones not much else to see.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank CWD360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7 111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"audio guide"
in 635 reviews
"skip the line"
in 395 reviews
"human bones"
in 101 reviews
"denfert rochereau"
in 77 reviews
"million skeletons"
in 52 reviews
"worth the wait"
in 290 reviews
"hour wait"
in 166 reviews
"unique experience"
in 146 reviews
"spiral staircase"
in 142 reviews
"long line"
in 201 reviews
"two hours"
in 136 reviews
"waiting in line"
in 104 reviews
"walked right"
in 65 reviews
"pre book"
in 58 reviews
"own pace"
in 49 reviews
"three hours"
in 54 reviews
"buy your tickets"
in 50 reviews
Filter

542 - 546 of 7 114 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

DO BUY YOUR TICKETS IN ADVANCE or you'll stand in line watching people constantly walk up and go right in before you. This is an amazing walk thru the catacombs that should be seen, especially for a history buff like me, who really wanted to experience this.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank sullyolkpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The Catacombs are really interesting in an Indiana Jones kind of way, pre-booking 'skip-the-line' tickets via HeadOut ended up being a problem.

After picking up our tickets at the souvenir shop next door for our 11am start, we were told to line up in a relatively short 'skip-the-line' queue.

And then waiting began......
We waited and waited and waited. After waiting just under 2 hours in the 'skip-the-line' queue (I know, right!), we finally made it in. Woo Hoo....

Please note the signage/information for the lines is almost entirely non-existent, however the staff (all 3 of them) we friendly.

The one upside is that people who didn't pre-book at all probably ended up waiting 3+ hours as their queue wound all the way around the corner.

My suggestion would be to book a guided tour or tickets via the Catacombs website as there didn't seem to be much of a wait for these options.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank BryanN174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We loved the catacombs, well worth a visit and really interesting. We could not believe how huge it was. However, this review is really for the ticket vendor Headout. They claim you can buy Skip the Queue tickets, but this is not accurate. The buying process was easy, and picking the tickets up from a nearby tabac was simple. However, the time you book on their website does not appear on the ticket you are given. When you get to the entrance, you are told to go to the queue nearest the road. Admittedly this is much shorter than the queue for people without a ticket, but we still waited an hour as they let 5-10 people in at a time. There is a middle queue for other tickets that are a real skip the queue from another vendor that we’re much more expensive. I just think HeadOut should be honest on their website.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Jo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived at 9am for a 10am open and werent admitted until 12pm. We were here at a peak period. 13 euro entry for an adult and 11 euro a student (they didnt ask for a student card)
The catacombs themselves are incredible. So many bones! Definitely worth a look but get there off peak if possible.
Expect to spend about an hour in the tunnels and catacombs themselves

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jayme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Catacombs of Paris also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to The Catacombs of Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing