We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Phenomenal”
other travellers have booked this property
Artist's studio in house. Comfortable bed in white sofa.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Artist's studio in house. Comfortable bed in white sofa.
A nosy neighbor named Pablo.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
55 reviews
Artist's studio in house. Comfortable bed in white sofa.
A nosy neighbor named Pablo.
You'll have a rare townhouse smack in the middle of Paris.
One of our guests.
The same 1906 model that Ravel used to compose 'Bolero'
Hundreds of CDs and tapes hiding behind that palm.
Sorry, the model doesn't come with the bed.
There's no end of things to look at.
Your host, Steve, is second from left
Big living/dining room. Table seats 8.
Oil on canvas by 19th century minor French master.
A statue of a minstrel from medieval times.
Watch your neighbors stroll by as you eat. Of course they can watch you too.
We can't resist making things look nice.
If only you could tan through windows....
Your eat-in country kitchen...
...has all the modern conveniences, plus a stock of oils, vinagers, condiments, coffees and teas.
Bedroom on quiet garden with working fireplace...
If you sleepwalk you'll have lots of room.
You can cuddle up in front of a crackling fire.
Your Neighbors include 2 emergency doctors and 3 working artists.
Large upstairs bedroom...
has a working firelace and...
...an en-suite bathroom.
Another bathroom: toilet, bath, stand-up shower, 2 sinks and 2 hairdryers.
Same bathroom, opposite direction.
2 Metro lines. You can see the house behind it on the right.
Metros are clean, silent and easy to use.
The Luxemburg gardens, 5 minute's stroll from the door.
...Rent a little boat if you like sailing.
There are sidewalk cafés on virtually every corner.
More artist's studios across the street.
Farmers' Market Wednesday and Saturday 100 yards from the house.
It becomes an arts and crafts market on Sundays.
Montparnasse cemetery just behind the house.
Paris has art everywhere. This is a neighboring building.
An amazing fountain, 100 yards from house. It flows in summer.
The Catacombs, 200 yards from your door.
Cartier Foundation for Contemporary Art,  100 yards from house.
Quai d'Orsay Museum (my favourite) 10 minute bus ride from your front door.
Two-minute walk to famous brasserie La Coupole.
Duc, perhaps the world's best fish restaurant , directly across the street.
La Mère Agitée, unique.
A favorite with guests; geat home cooking 30 yards from the house.
Where Picasso and his friends passed their afternoons.
Interior of La Rotonde.
As seen from top of Montparnasse Tower, 200 yards from house.
Walk to Notre Dame Cathedral in 20 Min.
Even the department stores are beautiful.
And cloudy days can be breathtaking. The Seine is a 30-minute stroll away.
The French just don't know how to do ugly! (Pont Alexandre III)
In fact they create beauty without even trying. (Pl Furstenburg, 20 min. stroll)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Paris, Ile-de-France

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ravi A
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Phenomenal”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in July 2016

What a fantastic place to stay in!!

We were travelling Europe with our kids (13 and 9) - Paris was the penultimate leg on the tour. we found Chez Picasso online and loved the look of it. I have to say - in person, this place is one hundred times better than what the pictures show. Each and every room is unique and you can feel the love and care with which it was put together. The space is super large - which is fantastic for a family with kids...as many know, hotel rooms in Paris are tiny. We had 6 people here - from a cost perspective, you come out better than trying to have 3 hotel rooms...or even two!!

The location is great -- there's a subway station right next to it. we love walking -- and if you do, then most attractions are a couple miles of lovely walks away. there are a nunber of restaurants and grocery stores close by - so it makes it easier.

Lastly - Steve is a fantastic host. he was super prompt when we were trying to book the place....took time from his schedule to give us not just the tour of the house when we got there but also explained how to get around in the neighbourhood, where his favorite eating places were, and so on.

I would absolutely stay there the next time we take the family to Paris.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Hello Ravi,
Thans for such a nice review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jongrayuk
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful. An elegant home away from home in the heart of Paris.”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My wife, young daughter and brother in law stayed here in July 2016. It is lovely. A real home, not a sterile hotel room. It is located very centrally and within easy access to the Metro (about 20 metres from the front door). It is also well located for local supermarkets with smaller supermarkets within 100 metres and a larger Monoprix about ten minutes walk away. Steve (the owner) was very helpful, giving us a tour and information about the local area. The house is full of interesting object d'art and hundreds of books (mainly in French, though some in English) which made just hanging around the house a stimulating experience in itself. If you want to be in the heart of Paris and feel like a Parisian, this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Playing the grand piano
Liked least: Air conditioning would be a great addition for those very hot summer months, but the metal shutters do a good job.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thanks, Jon. What a nice review. I really enjoyed having you and your lovely family. You'll always be welcome.

Best regards, Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anandi H
1 review
“Quirky, unque, lovely parisian home.”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Chez Picasso is a real gem. we loved the high ceilings, and the huge windows. The owner was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely try to stay here again next time we are in Paris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grand piano, huge windows, quirky decor
Liked least: The dining table with benches was a little uncomfortable. The kitchen was somewhat basic.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Hello Anandi,

Thanks so much for this sweet review. Every little helps.

Best regards, Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Ann...
2 reviews
“Beware! There is NO air conditioning”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed here with my extended family. There were 7 of us, but the house really did not "sleep" 8. There are 3 beds and a pull out. It was not comfortable for 2 people to sleep in the beds, except for the kids. Also, I understand that the house is old which lends to its "charm", but it is not updated. We stayed in a villa in Italy that was about 200 years old, but the owner kept it updated, even with air conditioning. Also, there are many personal items in this townhouse, including old, smelly books. They may have relevance to the owner, but they don't belong in a rental house. Also, the place was filthy! The linens were dirty, the house is dusty, the floors were dirty, the plants were dusty, need I go on. There was food left by previous renters, which suggests to me that the place isn't cleaned after every renter. Also, what Steve advertises as "two bathrooms" consists of a full bathroom upstairs, a bathroom with a sink and shower, and a lone toilet downstairs. I guess if one adds these together, it is technically 2 bathrooms. However, the toilet downstairs is musty and smelly and tucked under the stairs. The kids were afraid to use it.
What is advertised as air conditioning are really fans that are supplied. Thankfully, the weather was cool enough at night that we didn't need the air. But if you're there in July and August, good luck. Also, there are no screens on the windows, so can't leave them open at night.
On the bright side, it is in a good location, but so are other, more updated rentals. Would NEVER recommend this place to anyone!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The false advertising
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
This rather unfortunate review, from a person who was not the actual renter, seems to have been written in a fit of peak. Most of it is untrue (i.e. I never claimed there was air-conditioning.) Compare it to my other fifty-odd positive reviews. It stands out like a sore thumb.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdietz19
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not as great as we thought it would be”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for one week in June with a larger group and were not very happy overall with the stay. First the good...the location is nice and Montparnasse is a safe neighborhood with bistros, restaurants and shopping very much in the immediate area. Plus the Metro station is steps away from the front door. Now the not so good...I get the place is older and you should expect a classic French flat but the problem we had was that it was dirty...so much so we called Steve who sent a cleaning crew over. While Steve was at the flat, he did make some snarky comments on the choice of food we had bought (too American I guess for a guy who used to live in the States). I would also say that the flat needs some updating specially the first floor bathroom and the kitchen. Please also understand that there are personal items everywhere (a lot of stuff).

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
This is the first and only time this has ever happened in 6 years of renting. The faulty housekeeper was fired instantly upon your call. The house was thoroughly cleaned again within hours. The bathroom is recent and in "as-new" condition. The bathroom--and the personal belongings, which consist of antiques, paintings, ancient books and old collectors items --are completely visible on the site and so should come as no surprise. As I clearly say on the site, this is a home and not a "rental property". All the kitchen equipment is new. As for "snarky remarks" I think that fairly unlikely, as other reviewers' good opinion of me as a host tend to show.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing