We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unbelievable!”

Review of Chateaufort

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Tours, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Megan M
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievable! ”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We rented Chateaufort for a week to celebrate my Dad's 60th birthday. There were 18 of us staying at the chateau over the week - family and friends. We wanted somewhere luxurious and unforgettable... And this place exceeded all of our expectations!

It's even more beautiful and grander than you'd imagine from the pictures. The chateaus bedrooms and suites were beautifully decorated and immaculate with such attention to detail. The dining room, billiard room. Medieval banquet room and cocktail lounge really make you feel like you're living in a castle!

The grounds were also spectacular with beautiful gardens, a driving range and lots to explore. The only thing needed is a new croquet set as the current ones are a bit bashed (and that's literally the only recommendation we had!!) The pool was large, always clean and there was a well equipped gym that we made use of after all the amazing food and wine we'd drank!

Over and above the chateau and gardens, the cherry on top was Ian and Laura our hosts/managers. They couldn't have been more welcoming, helpful or hospitable and really made us feel special. They also catered the 60th birthday dinner - 4 courses and coffee for 18!! We couldn't believe the quality and care that went in to the preparation, food and service. We couldn't have asked for anything better. Thanks guys for making it a night we'll never forget!

They also held a BBQ for us and the rest of the guest in the idyllic courtyard which was such a nice setting.

Overall they helped make our stay so memorable and we can't thank them enough.

If you're looking for something really special, impressive and where you can completely relax with everything you could possibly need for an amazing holiday - the best hosts - then I couldn't recommend anywhere better than Chateaufort!



Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJSVA
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Old Building surrounded by an Incredible Garden”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The building is an exquisite old mansion, situated in a beautiful garden. They have only 9 rooms and it seems that all of them are big and comfortable. The first floor has the common areas, seating rooms, formal dining room, library, etc. The innkeepers, Caroline and John, went out of their way to see we were comfortable and satisfied. A very nice breakfast was included and we enjoyed it very much before starting our busy days exploring the area surrounding area.

Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denpqk
New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven on earth - live like royalty”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is no ordinary B&B. This petit chateau is stunning. The guest rooms are huge and so well appointed. Every detail is seen to. Caroline and John, the managers, could not be lovelier or more helpful. We felt so luck to have the entire chateau to ourselves for the first 2 days of our 3 night stay. We definitely took advantage of the common rooms, relaxing and enjoying the surroundings. The grounds are beautiful as well. You are made to feel thrown back in time. Breakfast is superb. Caroline prepares her own home-made yogurt! My husband was delighted. Every morning, coffee, tea, yogurt, croissants & breads, jams, meats & cheese, juice. A feast. I am also very happy that we chose Langeais as our location in the Loire Valley. It was really central to everything we wanted to see. The town itself has wonderful restaurants and shops, as well as a major Chateau of it's own. I wish I could have stayed a month at Chateaufort. I certainly hated to leave.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinaF
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sumptuous chateau suites - live like a princess”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Perched on the edge of the charming village of Langeais is this exquisite chateau with sweeping lawns, lovely pool, and fabulously decorated rooms and suites. Try for supremely spacious Delacroix suite, worth every penny as you will feel like the Lord of the manor during your stay. Breakfast is taken in a beautiful wood-panelled dining room and there are several other lovely reception rooms in which to relax. Easy walk into town where there are good restaurants and the Château which warrants a visit. Nearby are many other historic chateaux including Villandry with its spectacular gardens. Service at Chateaufort is excellent, helpful and always with a smile.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAn61270
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Valentine treat”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My husband and I spent the most wonderful weekend at Chateaufort, it was a surprise treat my husband had booked for me and I couldn’t have been more pleased. When we drove up the driveway I really couldn’t believe what I was seeing, the setting of this beautiful chateau is gorgeous.

John and Caroline really were the most friendly and welcoming hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Our room, we had Cezanne, was beautiful, we had a really spacious en-suite bedroom and our own private sitting room.

The breakfast each morning was fresh and tasty with plenty of choice from homemade yogurts to fresh fruit salad and of course croissants and French bread, although John also added to this by making his own too, which was delicious.

We ate in at the chateau one evening and again John’s cooking was amazing, we had duck breast, which was cooked to perfection.

This visit was unfortunately very short but we would definitely love to return one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing