We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great, secluded, quiet and fun!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Porcherie

Cottage and Pool Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage and Pool Area
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Cottage and Pool Area
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge / Diner
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom One
Bedroom One
Bedroom Two
Bedroom Two
Games room
Games room
Gym
Gym
View across garden
Cottage
Cottage
Pool 11 x 4 Metres
Fish pond
Flower box at opening to drive
View across meadow
Le Grand Pré in the Autumn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
La Chatre, Indre, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ChrisSnap...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, secluded, quiet and fun!”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at this Gite for 1 week in July 2016 and loved it. The English owners have crafted an excellent, high quality holiday letting that has all the details thought through. The accommodation itself is a lovely renovated cottage offering a lounge, dining area, kitchen, downstairs toilet, two bedrooms and main bathroom. Spotless and well maintained.

The main attraction of this Gite is the top quality pool. Well thought through, it is 11x4m and has a stepped shallow end (1m) leading to a deeper end (1.8m). It is heated and controlled so it's always the right temperature. Very clean and well looked after. Coupled with sun loungers, an outside patio set and gas BBQ it's a great place to spend whole days and the kids loved it.

The owners are great. You are left to your own devices and they are always available if needed. There is also a games room in the semi converted barn with table tennis and pool (all free). Plus there is a decently equipped gym too.

We drove down from Calais, which took us under 6 hours and the roads were good. It is about 3 hours south of Disney, as we went there afterwards. It's a great way to expand the Disney holiday with a bit of relaxing. Supermarkets and restaurants are within 10 minutes drive too.

We will definitely try to go again. Loved it. Thanks Phil and Tracey!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This Gite is in a lovely quiet location, it is immaculate though out and nothing is too much trouble for the owners Phil and Tracy, they have ensured everything that you may need is in the Gite so your stay is relaxing and enjoyable. You cannot beat sitting by the pool looking over the countryside. Thank you for a lovely stay and for all your help.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBJones5
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The relaxation begins the moment you see the flower box at the top of the lane to La Porcherie. The location is beautiful, very quiet and surrounded by farmland with gentle wooded hills rising away in the distance. We were welcomed on arrival by Phil and Tracy who were initially surprised to see our three children, as a booking form error meant they were only expecting two adults! However, this didn't faze them at all and by the time we had finished looking at the huge koi in the pond an extra bed had been built and the second room made up and ready. They have the art of hosting people at their home off to a tee, always available if you need something, but otherwise you wouldn't know they were there. The house itself is very well appointed and was spotless on our arrival. The appliances, fixtures and fittings are all in very good order, not tired and worn like you often find in holiday lets. The furniture is comfortable and having British television channels available is a welcome difference. There is a small collection of games under the stairs and we particularly enjoyed the "Night at the races" DVD game, not sure teaching the children how to bet on horses is a good thing or not but they certainly enjoyed it. The biggest plus point for us though was undoubtedly the pool. We had fantastic weather for our stay and we all used the pool everyday, the kids were barely out of it, especially as it is constantly heated to 30deg meaning you can use it even if there is a chill in the air early morning or later in the evening. The night sky here is truly amazing and worth letting kids stay up until it's properly dark, we saw several shooting stars one night. The local area is pleasant and easy to drive around on quiet, almost traffic free roads. La Chatre is a nice little town with some good cafes and restaurants, but do be aware most of it is closed on Sunday and Mondays. We ate out at Fredy's Brasserie one evening, which is a nice family friendly place(kids meals are a little basic though), who were happy to help with our appalling French! Chataux Du Sarzay is a fascinating place(with an eccentric owner), and definitely worth visiting, especially if you have children who will love the fact they are allowed to touch and pick up everything in there, so different from most historic places. Overall though we spent most of our time at the house just relaxing and enjoying the beautiful surroundings. Could scarcely have asked for a more relaxing and fun time. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: patchy wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricardo D
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We usually like a holiday near the beach. So this was very different for us with two young kids.

Phil and Tracy were brilliant, always willing to help. The place was clean. The most relaxing place we have ever been.

The kids loved the swimming pool. Spent at least three hours or more in it. They have amazing tans!!!!! And when they were bored of swimming they went and played pool and table tennis.

The kids really liked the pond and trying to find the frogs before they jumped in. The highlight for me were the horses and the local ferret who made a few visits.

We would highly recommend this place to anyone. One day we will return.

Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Piece Of Our Heart Will Alway Be At La Porcherie”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was for our honeymoney - a 13 night stay in a French Gite, then 4 nights at EuroDisney. In all honesty, this was the part of the holiday/honeymoon that I loved the most. La Porcherie is owned by a lovely English couple, Tracy and Phil. Our hosts could not be more accommodating, without being at all obtrusive (in all honesty, we went for 2-3 days at a time without seeing them!).
The Gite itself was an absolute joy to stay in - absolutely spotless upon arrival, as was the swimming pool and a more than welcoming pack of bread, jam, marg and milk along with the French staple, red wine :) For the first two hours we were walking round with great big grins on our faces! The bed was so comfortable that for the first time in years, I slept for 12 hours (the wine may also have helped)!. I can hand on heart say that EVERYTHING was provided, there was not one stage where we thought 'oh we wish there was this, or we wish there was that' - everything was on hand, from towels, beach towels, every kitchen implement you could ever want, a nice telly with Sky for the bad weather days, a games room, a gym - the list was endless.

The Gite itself is situated on a farm deep in the French countryside. The nights are very, dark and very quiet, something a town boy like me took a while to get used to. During our time there, we saw buzzards, wild boar, kestrels, deer - quite amazing. The nearest town ins La Chatre, there we found some wonderful clothes shops as well as a quite large supermarket and more than enough different restaurants, bars etc - it is about a 15 minute drive from the Gite.

In summary, I cannot more highly recommend this Gite to families, couples, the young,the old - there is something for everyone. I will also have the memory of my honeymoon, sitting outside, drinking wine and watching my 3 year old learn to swim, or sitting outside watching the night sky, seeing detail you never would see here. Highly, highly recommended - your perfect holiday will be here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing