We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely brilliant. Highly recommended.”
other travellers have booked this property
garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
garden
private garden garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
76 reviews
garden
private garden
garden
garden
Loches aerial view
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
apartment
private garden
garden
garden
private garden
private garden
official entrance
Lilli
garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Loches, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
shamrockr...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely brilliant. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great place in an ideal location. Sylvie is the perfect host and the apartment was great value for money. Lovely garden, very peaceful and ideally placed in Loche.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Tina & Gary, wonderful guests for a too short stay. I really hope they can take a second time here to discover the rich area and to share the garden during the relax moment.
Thank you for your coming!
Silvia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hirdie
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Lovely village and apartment in beautiful garden setting.”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The apartment was very much as it appeared on the internet, was spacious, clean and adequately furnished. The kitchen was well equipped with an almost new electric oven and hotplates, a small dishwasher that was ideal for two people. It was a lovely garden setting to look out upon and Sylvia was extremely helpful with advice and information about the village of Loches. There was wine and pantry items on arrival and Sylvia even offered to shop for us, as we were arriving late in the afternoon.

Our only criticism was the suggestion that guests only use appliances during the less expensive 24 hour period. This was difficult as the times were not convenient for tourists who would be out during the day. The apartment was on the lowere level of the garden, so did not get much sun. It would be lovely and cool in the summer, but we arrived mid autumn when the weather was turning cold and had to ask to have heating turned on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The garden setting and the location in the village, close to the castle
Liked least: The heating arrangement, would have preferred to be able to turn heating on ourselves as we required, rather than the owner controling the heating unit.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2014
Dear Steve and Jenny, thanks for your lovey presence!
I’m sorry for the suggestion of the electricity: it’s the society that gave me the 3 stars qualification that asked me to indicate all the energetic economy you can do for the environment. It’s an important political engagement in France. Any case, it’s only a suggestion, like you wrote, not an obbligation!
For the heating don’t worry! I’m always there for turn it on if necessary and the apartment is warm in few minutes…
Thanks for all!
The best to you,

Silvia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jethroe1
Covington, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, value, garden, and host!”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Silvia's Villa a l'ancien Pigeonnier is in Loches. I highly recommend this town as a central location to explore Loire. We were there in October, and did not hear ONE other tourist speaking English the entire time. Very quiet, very French, and with a beautiful old section that Villa a l'ancien Pigeonnier is attached to. Amazing location, basically inside one of the three walls to the old fortress which dominates Loches and is a great place to start your Loire valley experience. Parking is always an issue in these French towns, but not at Villa a l'ancien Pigeonnier . She has ttwo places to park, and one of them is reached by a centuries old tower that was part of the defensive wall of the fortress! Plus, Silvia's gardens in the small plot out back add so much to the ambience. We would stay again if in the Loire valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: A little cold.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2014
Dear George and Suzanne,
after many months of waiting, we finally met and I got to know the artist!!
I hope my garden and the beautiful Loches can inspire your mind and your hand… And when You and Suzanne want to return, you know that you can inform me also at the last minute… I’ll try to make the best!
A big hug to you!
Silvia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annec5352
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday in delightful location”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just returned from a ten day holiday in this great apartment in a very peaceful location in the centre of Loches. Silvia was a charming and helpful host, with loss of suggestions for things to do in the area. The apartment was lovely, and had everything needed for a couple or young family - particular mention should be made of the very comfortable bed! There is a a beautiful private garden to relax in. Loches is a great little town, with a twice weekly market, and some lovely restaurants and shops. It is also a great base to explore the chateaux of the Loire valley - my particular favourite was Chenonceau, unbelievably beautiful. Last but not least, we really enjoyed the company of Silvia's lovely pets, Lilli and Glenda! Thank you Silvia for a magical experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2014
Anne & John,
it has been a really great emotion for us too to meet you… wait for the evening to share the day’s experiences… talk about politics, animals, countries, history, peoples, origins… all that makes just ‘family’…
It’s such a great satisfaction to know that my loved guests found themselves here like at home and leave for home with a magical souvenir of the moments spent here!
A big thanks to you two!!
Silvia, Lilli & Glenda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellysmyd...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A wonderful break in the studio. The private garden is beautiful and the studio very comfortable with some lovely touches. Excellent situation in the very centre of town with enchanting access to the street via the pigeonnier. Our host, Silvia, was delightful and attentive throughout our stay and we couldn’t recommend highly enough. We will definately return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2014
Thanks to you, Emma & Ken! A wonderful experience for me to meet you, to know your liking, your humor, your cordiality…
Awaiting you for the next time, I wish you never change yourself!! Love, Silvia & Lilli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing