We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Stable

The Stable
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stable
Heated swimming pool in terraced garden room Fully equipped Sienna oak kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Stable
Heated swimming pool in terraced garden room
Fully equipped Sienna oak kitchen
Twin bedroom
Swimming pool and sun terrace
Swimming pool with view over countryside
Swimming pool
Sun terrace
The grounds
Table tennis under covered barn
Medieval Loches (twice weekly market)
Spacious dining room and kitchen
Dining room and wood burning stove
Lounge
Double bedroom
Downstairs shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Loches, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
d0mmie
england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fantastic week staying at the Stables. The pool is amazing, heated and covered for those days when the weather is off... Quiet and peaceful location in the countryside yet plenty to do around and about. Fab hosts who even prepared a fresh welcome meal for when we arrived. The Stable is fully equipped and provided us with a great place to stay. We had a lovely week, very relaxing. Played lots of table tennis, boules and swam every day. BBQ and sitting... real down time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Stuart and thanks for such great feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you've returned feeling refreshed! We'd love to welcome you back at any time in the future, best regards from us all here
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W
1 review
“What a place”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Heart of the country, peace and quiet, immaculate cottages, gardens and swimming pool, lovely hosts. In easy reach of Chateaux, gardens, local markets, rivers, villages, restaurants.
Just ask Derek and Angela for the best places to go, and we definitely advise a trip to Chateau de L'Islette suggested by our hosts and the most magical place! We have had a wonderful holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
We are so pleased that the holiday delivered on every level and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanHurst
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great, relaxed week away”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Angela and Derek have created 4 lovely gites which were just perfect for a relaxed week away with the boys. They're located in the heart of the countryside in Indre-Loire which really helps to get away from it all. There are all the facilities you need including swimming pool, barbeques and wi-fi etc.

The roads were really quite which were perfect for running and cycling on and it was a really good way to see to local area.

We'd recommend visiting the Reserve Zoologique de Haute Touche - only a 10'-15' drive away and one of the best 'safari parks' in France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel B
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning Properties in Rural France”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Yet another fantastic stay at La Vieille Ferme, cannot fault the welcome, accommodation & lovely pool. If you want to get away from the rat race, stay in quality accommodation, be close to restaurants & within easy reach of the Loire's outstanding chateaux, this is the place to be.
Derek & Angela have certainly got the whole package just right, nothing is ever too much trouble should you need their help onsite or with recommendations of restaurants and places to visit. Although living on site they are never intrusive.
The gite is very well equipped, very well maintained as is the entire site. The pool is spotless and very inviting as is the pool room for relaxing with a book or just admiring the garden & views further afield.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall high standards of accommodation
Liked least: Leaving to come home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
We are so pleased your enjoyed your holiday again at La Vieille Ferme.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xzlod
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic gite in sleepy village”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The converted farm buildings in Cléré-du-Bois are superb dwellings in a quiet village. The region is noted for its extraordinary wildlife and is next door to a national park. We saw dozens of buzzards in the nearby fields, a frog crossing one of the near empty roads, a coypu and some large birds that might have been cranes. The area is sparsely populated and the nearby villages very quiet. If you feel frazzled from work, this is the ideal place to decompress. There are some beautiful towns slightly further out, the best of which is probably Preuilly-sur-Claise. Châtillon-sur-Indre is the nearest town if you need a supermarket or petrol station. It's about 10km away.

We stayed in 'The Stable', one of four residencies. It had been converted to a very high standard and was extremely comfortable. There is an indoor swimming pool that had a water jet you could swim against if you wanted. The location was very appealing. Our hosts, Derek and Angela, were always on hand to help us out if needed. When I drained the car battery by leaving the lights on Derek had the jump leads! We found it easy to relax.

Our intention had been to do a lot of cycling (you can hire bikes from Derek and Angela). Unfortunately it rained all week. We still did some cycling and the local roads are perfect for this. They are deserted. We drove to Amboise to visit Le Chateau du Clos Luce. Leonardo Da Vinci died there. Absolutely fabulous. His inventions have been lovingly recreated for your delight and pleasure. Château de Chenonceau is another definite recommendation.

All in all, apart from he rain, it was a very peaceful and enjoyable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail
Liked least: Rain!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing