We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“our wonderful chill out week”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Farmhouse

The Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Farmhouse
Heated swimming pool in terraced garden room Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Farmhouse
Heated swimming pool in terraced garden room
Double bedroom
Swimming pool and sun terrace
Swimming pool with view over countryside
Swimming pool
Sun terrace
The grounds
Table tennis under covered barn
Medieval Loches (twice weekly market)
Double bedroom leading to ensuite
Fully equipped kitchen
Charming twin-bedded room with own shower room
Twin-bedded room
Lounge with wood-burning stove
Shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Loches, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fogarasy
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“our wonderful chill out week”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have stayed here on many occasions over the years and we keep thinking it can't get better but it does. Angela and Derek are wonderful hosts taking care your every need . They continue to maintain and improve the gites and grounds in what can only be described as a little piece of heaven. Wonderful location and a wonderful week. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and tranquility in this rural location
Liked least: i did not dislike anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfect break for us, our teenage boys and baby girl”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We all had a fantastic weeks holiday staying in the Farmhouse. It had everything you could possibly need to make the perfect holiday. Angela and Derek are wonderful hosts and have obviously invested a lot of time and thought into creating something that works well for any type of traveller. We would definitely come back and would also recommend to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to La Vieille Ferme.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William S
Clinton, Washington, United States
2 reviews
“A stay at Vielle Ferme with its flower filled grounds, covered pool and restored buildings is a step back in time.”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The Vielle Ferme grounds are lovely with more flowers than one can imagine in one place. Our house, the Farmhouse, built in the 1700's, was delightful with big timber supported ceilings, walls at least a foot thick, a pond out front with gold fish and little green frogs which welcomed us each morning and a big comfortable bed to relax in. Even better than our little pond was the glass covered swimming pool which we looked forward to each day. What a wonderful way to relax after a day spent exploring fortresses and chateaux! We love to cook and found the kitchen most accommodating.
Derek and Angela went out of their way to suggest out of the way places such as an almost unmarked Roman bridge from around 60 AD or a village with soaring castle and fortress ruins and a little restaurant with the best creeps in the world. They were the best hosts one could wish for; we stayed two weeks and that wasn't long enough. We were enchanted with this lovely place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked the setting in a small rural village with an old church which chimed the hour. I also loved the farms and old villages we drove through on or way to each lovely chateau.
Liked least: There is absolutely nothing to dislike about this magical place.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert J
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superbly kept propery in a lovely location”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a really enjoyable stay. Good facilities all really well maintained. Relaxing pool, nice (empty road) bike rides. Many thanks to Angela & Derek.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The help and welcome
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth591
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cottage is very well equipped and comfortable. The swimming pool is superb! Lovely area to tour either in the car on cycling. Angela and Derek as ever excellent hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2014
So pleased you enjoyed the heated covered swimming pool and we look forward to your return visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing