We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility in France"”
other travellers have booked this property
Domaine de Matounet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Domaine de Matounet
Domaine de Matounet
Heated Pool In Summer
Piscine Chauffée En Eté. Cottage Domaine de Matounet 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Domaine de Matounet
Domaine de Matounet
Heated Pool In Summer
Piscine Chauffée En Eté.
Cottage Domaine de Matounet 1
Pool Heated
Terrace cottage
Barbecue on the terrace
Another view of the cottage
Outside the cottage
Game room outside
Game room inside
First bedroom (double bed)
Second bedroom (double bed)
Third bedroom (2 Bunk beds for 4 people)
Main room
Kitchen
Main room (the ceiling height 7 meters)
bathroom
Castle of loire valley (bridore) picture take from the cottage
Domaine de Matounet
Lake 300 meters from the cottage
Domaine de matounet (view from the castle of bridore)
Castle of bridore (build in the beguining of 14 th century)
cottage
Free tennis court (300 meters from the cottage)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Loches, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
The_Harpe...
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tranquility in France"”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Without a doubt, our stay at Domaine de Matounet was the highlight of our recent trip to France. Jean David was the most gracious of hosts and his lovely country cottage met all of our needs and expectations. We rented the three bedroom cottage which was perfect for our family. The view of the castle from the family room is one that we will not forget! Kena David and his entire family were welcoming and gave us great tips on what to visit/where to eat/shop. Jean David even went the 'extra mile' for us by helping us find a local doctor when my wife and daughter both caught the flu. His adorable son became our son's best friend in France as well.
If you are seeking a second home while in France, this is it! We appreciated the sereness of the location, the beautiful views, the ability to eat meals together as a family on the days when we didn't want to go out, and to see the stars at night in the majestic countryside. We will definitely return! Please don't miss this charming cottage and the incredibly charming Mouveau family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jean David and his family
Liked least: the days it rained :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrWo0509
Eberndorf, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“just relax and come down!!!”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent nearly three weeks in August 2014 at Domaine de Matounet 1! It is a wonderfull base to explore the beauties oft Loire Vally! The cottage was very comfortable and clean! Jean-David and his family are very welcoming, cordial, congenial, pleasant and helpful but absolutly unobtrusive hosts! The local products he left to taste for us were very tasty!
Our kids, 5 & 9, loved the fantastic pool, where swimming aids and toys were available, as well as the soccer field, the volleyball place, the table tennis and the big space to play & run!
The cottage is surrounded by delightful landscape and is so easy to „come down“ and get new energy!

WE TRY TO COME BACK TO MATOUNET in August 2015 and would recommend the property to our friends & relatives!!!
Jean David merci pour ta hospitalie! Tu as une mervellieux place- so ca!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our lovely cottage, the surrounding and our hosts
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilieTee
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway - a rural retreat!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent the last week of August at this wonderful gite. There were 6 of us (3 couples) and it was perfect for what we wanted - a good base to go out and explore the Loire, as well as a relaxing and peaceful haven to completely switch off. The private pool was a short stumble from the patio, and was very hard to leave behind. Jean-David the owner, lives with his family in the neighbouring property, and was extremely pleasant and helpful, offering advice on the best chateaux to visit etc, as well as leaving local produce for us to sample, all without being even remotely intrusive. Definitely need to have a car and be prepared to use it, as even the nearest Boulangerie is about 4km away, and the supermarket about 10km, but the stillness and the views make it all worthwhile.

Sitting on the patio with uninterrupted views across to the Bridore chateau was just marvellous (same view from the lounge). There is a table tennis table next to the pool, and some board games and DVDs provided too. The lake just down the road has free tennis courts (bring your own rackets, or ask Jean-David as he sometimes has spares to borrow). Loches is about 12 km away and is a really lovely town, with some great restaurants. Take or buy some fly strips as there were plenty there the first day (though this may have been a hangover from the manure the previous guests mentioned!), but a few sticky strips picked up from intermarche soon sorted that out.

All in all, it was a brilliant trip, and all of us were unanimous that we would recommend the property to everyone, and would visit again in a flash!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet, and the pool!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWilkinso...
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic rustic gite in tranquil Loire countryside setting”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling with 3/5&7 year olds,the gite was fantastic base for our family to explore delights of Loire valley. The pictures do not do the gite justice and the non-chorine pool is fantastic - the owner has children and so pool accessories, swimming aids and toys were a great addition. Children loved playing table tennis overlooking chateau, walking to the lake for picnics and using free tennis courts at the lake was great. Jean-David was courteous and helpful, but despite family on-site, their property is behind gite and they were unobtrusive. Tourist leaflets were plentiful and our only complaint was a lot of flies, but this was due to timing of our visit coinciding with nearest farmer spreading manure on fields. The bedrooms were clean and felt very safe, sectioned off from main living area and perfect to ensure children were close by. We would recommend this gite, it is perfect for families with children and the bottle of Vouvray on arrival was a lovely touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil location and non chlorine pool
Liked least: Flies were unfortunately a constant battle
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveatris...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect escape”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Le Matounet was the perfect rural retreat. Surrounded by fields of golden wheat, maize and sunflowers, with a tranquil lake close by and the ancient chateau on the skyline. Yet it is just a short drive to the small market town of Chatillon (excellent patisserie & supermarket), Loches (the citadel & keep should not be missed) and within striking distance for a pilgrimage to the chateaux and wine cellars of the Loire Valley. The crowning glory must be the pool that brings welcome relief from the summer heat. Jean David is the charming and helpful host who lives in the neighbouring longer and completes a highly recommended escape.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, pool, hospitality
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$108
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing