We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A delightful cottage in a wonderful little...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of LA MAISON MARISSOU

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Des livres au cas ou....
Un autre regard sur la Touraine
Le Barbecue pour profiter des beaux jours et de la boucherie du village...
Château d'Azay le Rideau entre autre
La Loire à Vélo ou à pieds !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chinon, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Kiwihamil...
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delightful cottage in a wonderful little village”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

From the outset communication with Franciose was fantastic. Our group of 4 were warmly welcomed by Francoise and her equally charming siblings Martine and Laurent.
Nothing was ever to much bother and they even arranged in advance a Doctors appointment for one of our group. We felt so sad to leave our genuinely warm,funny and hospitable hosts.
The cosy cottage is very well equiped ..we particularly appreciated the washing machine and the goodies that were supplied to help start our week.
The village butcher and, bakery are wonderful . Despite speaking very little French the locals were incredibly helpful and friendly.
We highly reccomend the Auberge restaurant which is just a 5 minute walk away. The chef had just changed the menu the evening we dined there and he explained everything from top to bottom. Absolutely lovely food in a lovely little restaurant..
Huismes is a perfect location for exploring the Loire and La Maison Marissou the most delightful cottage to return to at the end of the day.The cottage worked particularly well for our group of two couples and we would highly reccomend staying .
Thank you Francoise,Martine and Laurent !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful hosts, location, well equipped cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Merci dear Ann... it was already impossible for us to forget you for the rest of our life and now it is sure : we will never forget you. We too : we felt very sad when your leave the cottage last Saturday, and we are still thinking of you visiting Dinan, Dinar, the Mont Saint Michel, the Monet's garden and finally Paris to spend your money !! everything was easy with you and we would have loved to spend more time with you and your nice family. Please take care and keep in touch ! Amitiés from the Loire Valley from Françoise, Martine and Laurent
N.B : please do not forget to send a message as soon as you arrived to New Zealand !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ratty93
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It would be hard to beat La Marissou for charm, comfort and cleanliness.”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our six week stay here flew by. The house was perfect for our needs: beautifully presented, very well-equipped and warm, with a welcoming atmosphere. Huismes is equally charming, having a great bar/café (serves really tasty dishes at lunch-time which are super value), excellent butcher's and good baker's. The auberge is another option if you want to eat locally. There is also a very popular visiting fish stall. There are many varied walks (rivers, forests, small hamlets) to take without getting in a car, but plenty more to keep you busy only a few miles away. Chinon itself is a lovely, interesting town. The owners of this gite are thoroughly charming and do an excellent job in preparing the house for visitors. Pretty faultless all round! We are very keen to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
Bonjour from la Maison Marissou and thank you so much for your nice report.
Only one word : we look forward to seeing you again in the future ! and thank you again for your confidence and your kindness
A très bientot !
Amitiés from France
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali065
kiama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty Perfect”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

From the moment I began my booking process with Francoise I knew I had made the right choice. It's comforting when you can feel the commitment to excellence through emails, I knew this would be a great experience and it was !! Great cottage, extremely clean and fresh and such a well appointed kitchen, everything was there, well set up for bbq outside and immaculately clean area. Sitting room is divine. The ambiance of the cottage is charming as is the whole village. The location to the marvellous Chateau is perfect. The vineyards around the area are stunning and the fortress of Chinon sublime. We miss you beautiful Huismes!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the property !
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Bonjour � vous deux and thank you so much for your nice report.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at la Marissou
It is a shame that you live so far but we hope that we will see you maybe next time to France since there is a lot to see, to drink, to eat and to enjoy !!!! Please take care and all the best
Amiti�s from France
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patricia...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazingly Well Appointed Cottage”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage has everything you would need to make your stay comfortable,a real home from home, as well as being beautifully furnished and decorated. The kitchen has every amenity you would need, with plenty of crockery, pans, bowls and dishes. The whole place is spotlessly clean.
The owners are most helpful, really wanting your stay to be pleasurable and with very good English too.
The cottage itself is in a very good location, close to many beautiful chateaus as well as other amenities eg there is a bakery round the corner and an excellent supermarket about a mile away. Chinon, the nearest town, is a most interesting medieval town with some great restaurants, as well as its famous fortress.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the place was tastefully decorated and very clean
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Bonjour from sunny Loire Valley.
We thank you very much for taking the time to post about your stay at La Maison Marissou. Your high rating and positive comments mean a lot to us. We will be more than happy to welcome you again at Huismes in the future.
All the best
Amitiés de France
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing