We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pretty Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of LA MAISON MARISSOU

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Des livres au cas ou....
Un autre regard sur la Touraine
Le Barbecue pour profiter des beaux jours et de la boucherie du village...
Château d'Azay le Rideau entre autre
La Loire à Vélo ou à pieds !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chinon, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Bali065
kiama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty Perfect”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

From the moment I began my booking process with Francoise I knew I had made the right choice. It's comforting when you can feel the commitment to excellence through emails, I knew this would be a great experience and it was !! Great cottage, extremely clean and fresh and such a well appointed kitchen, everything was there, well set up for bbq outside and immaculately clean area. Sitting room is divine. The ambiance of the cottage is charming as is the whole village. The location to the marvellous Chateau is perfect. The vineyards around the area are stunning and the fortress of Chinon sublime. We miss you beautiful Huismes!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the property !
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Bonjour � vous deux and thank you so much for your nice report.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at la Marissou
It is a shame that you live so far but we hope that we will see you maybe next time to France since there is a lot to see, to drink, to eat and to enjoy !!!! Please take care and all the best
Amiti�s from France
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patricia...
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazingly Well Appointed Cottage”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The cottage has everything you would need to make your stay comfortable,a real home from home, as well as being beautifully furnished and decorated. The kitchen has every amenity you would need, with plenty of crockery, pans, bowls and dishes. The whole place is spotlessly clean.
The owners are most helpful, really wanting your stay to be pleasurable and with very good English too.
The cottage itself is in a very good location, close to many beautiful chateaus as well as other amenities eg there is a bakery round the corner and an excellent supermarket about a mile away. Chinon, the nearest town, is a most interesting medieval town with some great restaurants, as well as its famous fortress.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the place was tastefully decorated and very clean
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Bonjour from sunny Loire Valley.
We thank you very much for taking the time to post about your stay at La Maison Marissou. Your high rating and positive comments mean a lot to us. We will be more than happy to welcome you again at Huismes in the future.
All the best
Amitiés de France
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianKF
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked La Maison Marissou having read the reviews on this site, we weren't disappointed. We have holidayed in France for many years and this has to be the best gite we have ever stayed in.

We were met by the owners and given an extensive tour of the property, and given a few tips about the local area and shops. They were very knowledgeable and a great source of information and made us feel really welcome. The welcome pack of Wine, butter and homemade jam was a great touch, pear and ginger jam was lovely

The Gite is well equipped and finished off to a high standard, it is also very clean. The BBQ area is great. The village of Huismes is on the Cycle routes and we did plenty of cycling which helped us burn off the excess calories obtained courtesy of the local butchers, (which is a must, their Rillettes is superb).

During our stay we visited the Fortress at Chinon which was great for the children and well worth a visit, they also enjoyed swimming and fishing in the local river.

The only reservation I have about recommending La Maison Marissou is that someone will book it before we do, as we will definitely be returning!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming house, beautifully furnished in a great location
Liked least: Leaving!!!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
"Merci, merci and merci" ! If you don't unterstand, ask to you nice boy to translate it for you ! Of course, we would love to seeing you again in the future to la Maison Marissou or to our other cottages. Tt is really simple to welcome people like your family.
You have enjoyed the area and the village of Huismes (remember the
Rillettes!) but there is still so much to see by bicycle or on foot! Then, see you very soon and best wishes to your nice family.
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith E
Kinver, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay near Loire and L'Indre”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

On the Saturday morning, we took the fast ferry from Portsmouth to Le Havre, and then travelled down the motorways (A28, A11, A85) arriving for 1730.
Françoise and Martine met us, and were impressed by my partner's French, and sympathetic to my lack of French.
The good things:
* La Marissou is well-stocked with crockery and cooking equipment.
* It is comfortable (many gîtes are not!).
* It is close to the boulangerie, bar and grocery shop.
* Vegetarians like us, can find places to eat in Chinon.
* The garden has a range of spaces and shades for even the hottest weather (i.e. our stay there).
* There is much to see, do, sample and walk close by, and further afield.
* In previous years, we had driven quickly across the Loire Valley on our way south or west. The Loire Valley (and tributaries) is worth stopping off for, and staying.
The bad things:
* Can't think of anything.
Things to watch out for:
* The Forteresse at Chinon has a thing about Arthur and the Roundtable - is this a good thing? It probably depends upon your age and what TV programmes you have been watching.
* Chinon has, to my Birmingham eyes, a Leclerc's of immense size, good food and range of goods. If only it would come to Birmingham.
I hope we have established that La Marissou is very good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Bonjour et merci pour votre commentaire !
We are very happy to read your impressions of la Maison Marissou which is a place apart .... With you the welcome was very easy and you too, you will be part of the good memories of this season 2015. Greet people in our house is something extraordinary and we will keep a special memory of those moments so pleasant...
Merci encore et à bientot !
Amitiés
Françoise, Martine et Laurent
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing