We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Maison d'a Cote(Montlivault)
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Louise de Savoie(Blois)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$99
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
First Inn Hotel Blois(Blois)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$83
ibis Styles
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Auberge de la Caillere(Cande-sur-Beuvron)
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
77
171
97
35
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
171
97
35
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscroissantstypical french hotelold buildingother attractionspleasant stayparking spacechateaufrancecharacter
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

My son and I stayed for 6 nights in August on a golfing break. The hotel is well situated in the centre of town so it is possible to walk to the main city attractions and the many restaurants easily. We were made to feel welcome and everyone was helpful. The bedroom was big enough for us but with a small wardrobe and no drawers. The concertina door to the shower room, which was built into the corner of the bedroom, was quite narrow and noisy to use. The beds were fine but our stay coincided with a very hot spell and with no air conditioning leaving the window open inevitably resulted in a lot of street noise.
Generally good value and probably best suited to a weekend break or short stay.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieJackyBarilleau, Gérant at Hotel de France et de Guise, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

We thank you very much for your advise and are looking forward to welcoming you in a future time.
With our best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2015

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the Hotel de France and de Guise in Blois on July 2 and 3, 2015 as the first step in our vacation in the Loire castles. This classic French hotel opened in 1891 and clearly has had better days (it is now a two star hotel in the French ranking system - not two Michelin stars!). Make sure to look into the collection of booklets with old pictures and postcards in the breakfast room for glimpses of its former glory, showing spacious rooms that have now been split into exiguous rooms...
Ths hotel has several good assets, in a city not famous for great hotels. Location is superb, right across the Blois royal castle, and within a short walking distance of the two best restaurants (Orangerie du Château and Côté Loire/ Auberge Ligérienne, reviewed separately) as well as the walking shopping area and the few night cafés. Blois is not really a party town...
The second asset is the warm welcoming and helpful owners, Annie and Jacky Barilleau.
The third one is the price, we paid 128 euros for two nights, by far the cheapest hotel in our trip. The hotel has an elevator and free wi-fi. There is no bar or restaurant except for breakfast but you can get a drink from the reception to take to the room. There are bars next door.
This being said, the room was way below our standards. It was very small. and the double bed not very large. The hotel has no air conditioning and our stay coincided with a heat wave, way over 30 degrees. Sleeping with the window open did not help, since it was as hot outside and the traffic noise through the night was unbearable (the hotel is on a busy street corner where cars and countless motorbikers seem to enjoy accelerating...). So we slept rather poorly.
The bathroom was a small cubicle with a toilet and a tiny shower with a sliding door that would be too small for an overweight person to get in or out.
The breakfast room was pleasant and classic, with nice wall paintings of the Blois area, although overcrowded with tables, and the breakfast choice was rather limited (we were offered a basket with two croissants).
On return from breakfast the second day we found that the lock of our room was stuck and could not be opened. Help was quickly summoned and it was soon fixed with some lubricant, but it would have been catastrophic if it had happened the night before when we came back after 11:00 PM, when there is nobody left at the reception (you have to push a code to get into the hotel).
Parking around the hotel is a bit of a challenge. There is a public parking nearby where one has to fill up coins every two hours from 9:00 until 18:30 (3 euros per two hours), and a bit further the parking du Château where one pays 9 euros for 24 hours.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre_De_Meyts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieJackyBarilleau, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et de Guise, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2015

Madame, Monsieur,

We thank you for your review and have noted the positive points that you have mentioned : situation , low prices, warm welcome...

Concerning the repair of the lock, we would have made the same intervention during the night.

As we say at each arrival, there is always someone in the hotel that can be reached even during the night by ringing the outside or inside bell or by phone...
For security, emergency, reparation or even for the noise from the room next door, we intervene at every call.

We hope that you have appreciated your stay in the Loire Valley.
All the best,

Annie & Jacky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

This is a classic French family-run hotel. It has charm, but is slightly worn at the edges. If you need standard uniformity, this is not for you.

However, for 70 EUR for a Comfort room with balcony offering a view of the Castle I think this was a good deal. Staff is super friendly and was very helpful. Breakfast at 8 EUR was in the same league- nothing gourmet but good value. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hello_Bamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

We are absolutely horrified by the condition of this place. We could only get the quadruple room even we were only two and they couldn't even include breakfast for the high price they charged. The smell was awful in the bathroom. We slept and left at first dawn. For our final surprise we went out for a walk and when we return we found out our room was intruded! They changed one of the bed into a sofa and turn the light off, until this day we don't know if something was stolen. Be aware.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Omer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieJackyBarilleau, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et de Guise, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

BE AWARE OF CLIENTS WHO TELL LIES and change the meanings of our acts because we refused to give a discount on the price of their room which was already reserved through Booking.com and did not agree to offer breakfast upon their arrival.
If we did enter into their room, it was to give more space by closing a sofa as they reserved a quadruple room for two people; We did close the double curtains as we do in all our rooms during heat wave to make their room colder. No smell was detected when we went into their room !
Of course as owner of our hotel, we are not used to steal our own clients, it is not more necessary to be dishonest and to sow the suspicion.

Annie & Jacky Barilleau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Hotel de France et de Guise has a perfect location, close to the castle. The staff is very friendy and our room, as well as the rest of the hotel, reeked of atmosphere. There are parkings not far away and, as we understood it, they are free at night and in the weekends. Blois is a nice stop if you are going from Paris to the south-west with a lot of history at this hotel blends well.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ulfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews