We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
1
8
10
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
8
10
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We arrived in one of the hottest days of July. The family room we booked turned out to be directly under the roof. The room was small and very very hot. The staff was very friendly and helpful and brought in an air cooler which worked rather well, though the size and sound of it was not ideal in the cramped room. Eventually we managed to get some sleep. Breakfast was served downstairs in a room decorated with medieval weapons. It was quite generous. The location of the hotel is great: right in the centre of the beautiful town of Beaugency.

Room Tip: get a room on the first floor not on the second. If you like charming it's a good choice , if you want comfort probably less so.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoostWillemsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Three of us on a cycling tour along the Loire valley stayed here. It was really good value, clean, everything we wanted. It's in the centre of town so easy to get to everything - also, it seems to be the late night bar, until 1am, which is very handy. I was asleep before it closed and it didn't keep me awake! The entrance hall is full of really lovely old curios - gramophone, old typewriter etc, and a fabulous wooden spiral staircase. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2014

If you would be looking to a typical old French hotel, then it is OK. We found the city old and charming, but the hotel was a bit old and missing maintenance. The reception was very friendly (with good care for our bicycles). The room was rather dark, bathroom outdated. The restaurant was closed due to holiday, but luckily there is choice in the city. We had quite some noise from the neighbours in the night. WIFI was not functioning well. Breakfast was typically French (so for us missing some choices). But perhaps this is what you can expect for this pricing clss

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aaa41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We used this as a stopover on our way back from the Dordogne to Paris Charles de Gaulle airport. We originally intended to stop in Orleans, but parking seemed to be a problem at most of the hotels, so we booked this hotel in Beaugency. We arrived on a Saturday when the road to the hotel was closed for a market, but a detour around brought us to the side of the hotel. Parking is hit and miss – there is on street parking outside but no guarantee of a place. The hotel is rather odd with medieval weapons behind the check-in and chairs on walls (?). The receptionist did not speak English. The room was equally odd with no door on the bathroom although there was a WC with a door but it was too small to fit a toilet roll holder in. There was a shower in the bath but no shower curtain and nowhere to hold the shower, so taking a shower was difficult. Taking a bath was impossible as there was no plug. Our room had picture frames with no pictures.
Breakfast was on a tray and not particularly appetising although the coffee was nice.
Overpriced and not very pleasant – stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our group of 2 families decided to break the journey to the Limousan with a night on the Loire. We checked prices in Orleans and Blois but could not fine 2 family rooms in a town centre hotel. We opted for Beaugency as La Licorne gave us both, we did not have high hopes for a 2 star hotel in a town we had never heard of.
Both turned out to be delightful, the town is stunning, compact with a magnificent bridge spanning the Loire. A lovely centre with some good restaurants and a lovey patisserie.

The hotel has an eclectic mix of furniture and antique weapons hanging from the walls. A warm welcome and free parking very close was again exceeding expectations, the 2 family rooms are in attic and while they lacked style they were clean and some nice views over the roof tops. The bathrooms are clean but the showers terrible.
The bar was busy and again lovely service, look out for the boars head!
The manager recommended a restaurant that was very authentic, not sure of the name but its right next to the indoor market.
We all had a great nights sleep before a basic but ample breakfast before continuing our journey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews