We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
27
39
18
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
39
18
13
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I was very impressed that, when requesting a room for a Friday evening in May 2017, a representative named Morgane kindly informed me that there would likely be a noisy concert on the premises that evening. Many if not most hotels would simply confirm the room, saying nothing. Very classy, indeed. Merci beaucoup, Morgane!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Tsokske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Located near the centre of town, the staff are welcoming and the hotel is clean. The rooms are small but you get all the facilities you need. Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice and very nice coffee. The bar is welcoming.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

I've stayed at this hotel twice and it gets better every time. It is ideally situated in the hub of the city with easy access to the train and bus stations as well as being a short walk to the tram network. The rooms are clean and airy with modern bathrooms and very comfortable beds, the bed linen is of good quality which makes for a good nights sleep indeed ! It's quite a walk to the uppermost floors but there is a cute little lift which has a lot of use. I can't speak highly enough of the food having dined frequently in the bar / restaurant and can recommend the fish and meat starter platters which are very generous and flavoursome. The hotel has a plat du jour which is very reasonably priced and the menu itself is varied and inexpensive for a three star establishment. The staff are efficient and friendly particularly the head waiter / maître d who is extremely helpful and pleasant, he knows the hotel inside out and ensures that the guests needs are well catered for. This is not a hotel for those who dislike loud music however, it has a basement event room which puts on discos and bands most weekends and it is very loud indeed ! As I like this sort of thing it is a bonus but I can imagine some guests would not be impressed. There is a warning notice displayed in reception notifying guests of this however. From my previous visit the dining room has been remodelled to mirror the rest of the building in the Belle Epoch era and has been very well executed, a joy to behold. The hotel is very popular with locals and visitors alike and is very clean throughout. I can't wait to return next year, it's a great place to stay.

Room tip: I generally stay in a twin bedded room with my friend which has enough room for us both. The front of the building faces the Main Street but is not overly noisy. The rooms to the side of the hotel are probably a little quieter.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I returned to Brest after 18 years and decided to stay in Hotel Vauban due to its location in the city center. It's just walking distance to Place de Liberte, train station and bus or trem stop. I got a room in 5th floor facing the street so not too noisy despite of a concert in Saturday night. The staffs were friendly and helpful. Had breakfast once and found it okay for the price.

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank MedikoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We enjoyed our Stay at the Hotel. Nice big room. Clean and with Style. The Folks at the Hotel really friendly. We stayed in the 4th floor. There is a lift and big staircase. There is one issue concerning Music. Check if there is a concert going on, as you ll hear the beat up into the 4th floor.

Room tip: Check if a concert is on as it will be heard all over the hotel. Parking advised in the Parking House Liberté nearby.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick-Hotwaterbottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews