We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great value & well equipped gite”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of domaine tournesol

Welcome to Domaine Tournesol in the heart of the Madiran wine growing region.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Domaine Tournesol in the heart of the Madiran wine growing region.
This original wine farm as been transformed into a wonderful family home Relax in the sun.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Welcome to Domaine Tournesol in the heart of the Madiran wine growing region.
This original wine farm as been transformed into a wonderful family home
Relax in the sun.
The ground floor accomadtion.
Leave behind the heat of the day and relax in the cool interior of the contemporary lounge
Naturally shaded, tranquil spots in which to sit, read a book or listen to your music.
feel free to pick seasonal fruit and vegetables from our potager.
Aperitif and dinner al-fresco in the courtyard garden.
Enjoy wine tasting at Chateau Crouseilles.
Panoramic views and vineyard walks from Chateau Crouseilles.
The region is famous for its Tannet grape.
Historic Pau with its wonderful churches, museums, restaurants and chic boutiques.
People watch on the Boulavard de Pyrenee, Pau Centre Ville.
Looking for authentic Tapas? The vibrant Spanish city of San Sabastien is just 2hrs from your gite.
Do you enjoy hiking and walking, Gavarnie boasts the highest waterfall in Europe.
The stunning Pyrenees featuring the Pic du Midi and its breathtaking views.
Stages 18 and 19 of the 2018 Tour de France in Pau and Lourdes. A international sporting event.
View the historic Pau Grand Prix on youtube before the exhilarating experience of this live event.
Take a cool dip in your private pool
Wisteria covered walls
Varied flora and fauna
Wonderful scenery in the High Pyrenees at the Cirque de Troumouse
Relax in the sun and 'top up' your tan.
Selection of seasonal vegetables for our guests.
A splash of colour!!
Morning sunshine May 2016
Your terrace view.
A shaded view from beneath the walnut tree
A warm welcome awaits you on the cool front terrace.
'Bright linen and thick fluffy towels'
Take a stroll along 3 kilometres of golden beaches at Hendaye
The enchanting Basque town of Hondarribia.
Sample amazing  pintxos
Winter sun in Marciac
Surfing in Biarritz.
Wonderful views from the extensive coastal walks in Biarritz
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees, Bearn-Basque Country, Pyrenees-Atlantiques, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
cheshirex
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great value & well equipped gite”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is a great value gite, with just about everything you need. It's very well equipped and clean. The pool is a good size (10 × 5) and there is lots of outdoor space. Kay and Neil are excellent hosts, available when you need to ask a question, but not at all intrusive - it was a pleasure to meet them.

This is a rural location so a car is a must, but it is pretty quiet with a proper dark sky full of stars at night.

We have stayed in quite a few properties in the south west of France and this was one of the best; we would definitely think about a return visit.

Thank you Kay and Neil for a lovely holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Thank you for finding the time to post these lovely comments, it is always appreciated when our guests take time out to comment on their stay, it was pleasure to meet you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita S
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Gite”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a lovely stay at Domaine Tournesol in June 2016. The owners couldn't do enough to help and the gardens and pool were lovely. We went into the Pyrenees several times during our stay, approximately 1.5 hrs drive, which were dramatic and well worth a visit. We also explored locally including the quiet village of Madiran and a vinyard.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thank you for finding the time to post your positive review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Domaine Tournesol.
We greatly value your custom & your kind comments
Kindest regards
Kay & Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire T
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Domain Tournesol for one week in August this year. The gite is extremely clean, modern and met all our needs. The weather we experienced was a mixed bag - several very hot days which we could then use to soak up the sun around the wonderful swimming pool, and enjoying BBQs outside. The gite had a lovely selection of games and DVDs to while away the hours when the weather was not so good.

Kay and Neil could not be more helpful, although they are right next door they keep themselves very discreet, but are more than happy to suggest places to visit or check the local weather forecast!

Pau is most definitely worth a visit, a beautiful city with lots of shops, cafes and restaurants, the little land train gave a good insight to the history and took us places we would not have seen. Lourdes was also interesting but a cross between the peace and serenity of St Paul's cathedral, with all the tatty tourist shops of Blackpool....very odd!

Would definitely recommend this gite to anyone wanting to explore this area of France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Liked least: Small fridge
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynseyAyl...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just spent along weekend break at domaine tournesol and from the moment we arrived we knew that our choice had been spot on. The well equipped property is a great place to relax. We just sat by the pool and soaked up the sun. The gardens were full of colour and we were lucky enough to be able to pick juicy strawberries from Neil and Kay's garden. On our arrival we were invited for "aperos" what a lovely surprise! The gite itself was supplied with a "welcome pack" including a bottle of local wine. A great place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jw1232015
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Gite in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I would like to say this place was like a home away from home for us, but that would be seriously under rating this fantastic holiday home!
The owners are friendly and helpful but also respectful of your privacy. The gardens and pool area are immaculate and there is a stunning courtyard area in which you can also relax. The Gite is spotless, kitchen is well equipped if you want to cook and there are also plenty of books, DVDs, CDs, wifi and English TV channels.
You are in the Madiran countryside, with views of the Pyrennes which are about an hour or so away. Kay and Neil are happy to give you advice on where to go and restaurants etc, if you want it but there is an info booklet in the Gite which has loads of suggestions too.
We are walkers and the Gite had maps of local walks we could take without having to travel far as we had already driven 900 miles from the UK, although on the empty French autoroutes, this wasn't a chore either.
We enjoyed discovering the local area on foot, with beautiful views and friendly locals. There are also plenty of local wine producers, where you can try before you buy so don't pack too much as you will need plenty of boot space!
Words cannot describe how inviting and relaxing this place is. Sitting in the evening sun on the patio with a glass of local wine, listening to the birds and then later on watching the bats swooping and then even later listening to the owls. Perfect.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing