We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Becoming an annual trip!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sue B
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Becoming an annual trip!”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We returned to Tayac to stay with Chantal and John this year as we had had such a fabulous time last year! The accommodation is exceptional, whether you stay in the cottage or in the B & B. The cottage has everything you could need, including towels and bedding. The cottage is fully equipped and has so much character. Chantal and John are the perfect hosts, providing ideas for places to visit.
This year we visited different places from last year-there is so much to do in the area. Castles, caves and chateaux abound- we also enjoyed a leisurely trip on a gabarre.
We cannot recommend Gite St Martin too highly and plan to return again, perhaps to enjoy a French Spring!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Whole package!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis D
Sedgwick, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We return to his special place aways from home.”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

St. Martin is a wonderful accomodation in a beautiful area of France. If your desire is to learn French Chantal, the owner, is your answer but if it is just to relax she will guide you in the right direction. the accomodations are exceptional and if ones desire is self catering this is a perfect location. There are many local markets to buy fresh produce. The local hiking is extensive and the prehisotric sites are many. I am hesitant to be too over enthusiastic as we will continue to return year after year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just being here
Liked least: Nothing, The town is very touristy but we just do not go there.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbw906
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Staying with Chantal was the highlight of our time in France. Les Eyzies-de-Tayac is located on a beautiful branch line of the French railway network and Chantal’s accommodation is only a short walk from the station. Even without a car we were able to travel comfortably around the area by train. The Gite St Martin is at the junction of two French Grandes Randonnées walking routes – No 6 and 36. http://www.gr-infos.com With Chantal’s picnic hamper and words of local advice we set off to explore much of the local area on foot. A genuine interest in our adventures as we returned at the end of each day made our ‘homecoming’ to the Gite and Chantal even more welcoming. The relaxing gardens that surround the charming Gite and not to mention the swimming pool added so much extra to the experience that we had. We will be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yellowjac...
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The accommodations were outstanding and the host was so helpful. She gave us all the local places and when Air France went on strike, she got on the phone and assisted us.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
1 review
“A great gîte, with everything nearby”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a great stay. The gîte is located a short distance (1km) from the town centre, so everything you could wish for is a short walk away. The house was fully furbished, and had a lovely rustic character to it.

Finally, the high tech pool (non-chlorine and heated(!)) was simply amazing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing