We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location in a Beautiful area”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Sommieres

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Downstairs shower room
Upstairs bathroom / WC
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen R
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location in a Beautiful area”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have just returned from two weeks at Riverside Cottage and it is just that - right beside the river. The views are just amazing with swans swimming right in front of you. Sitting out in the evening watching the sun set with the view over the river was wonderful. Jenny and Peter made us feel very welcome.

The house has everything you need away from home with a lovely french feel with the shutters and decoration. The bathrooms are clean, modern and fully equipped. The washing machine came in useful too. We used the bbq on many occasions and the garden is big enough to play a good game of badminton!

The swimming pool is wonderful - it is warm and the loungers, with cushions and parasols, made all the difference. We have had great fun!

The area is very quiet if you want to be away from it all. However it is only a short drive to the local villages or town for shopping and sightseeing, the markets are good too. Bergerac is a lovely town and well worth a visit.

We would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting the Dordogne. We didn't want to come home!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your review, Helen, and for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy! It was lovely meeting you and your artistic daughters.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumlovest...
Surrey
2 reviews
“Lovely gite in a perfect location”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2016

This gite was perfect for us - a couple with adult son and daughter. The weather was very hot and sunny, which we love, but there were plenty of shady spots to sit in if anyone wanted to. We enjoyed lazy days by the lovely big pool (sunbeds, parasols, lilos etc all provided) and eating our lunch in the shade overlooking the Dordogne. The breakfast croissant and baguette run to Pessac is just a few minutes in the car, and there are various large supermarkets to choose from within a 15-20 minute drive (usually visited on our way back to the gite after being out and about). Jenny lives next door, and was a great help recommending local places to visit, including the fabulous restaurant 15-20mins walk away, where we experienced a gorgeous Sunday lunch. We enjoyed a day in St Emilion (Jenny can advise on parking, where there's no charge over lunchtime!), the colourful market & lunch in Sainte-Foy-la-Grande, a tour & tasting at a local vineyard, kayaking on the Dordogne and dinner on a couple of evenings in Gensac. We also made full use of the BBQ - what could be better than sitting outside with a glass of wine and watching the sun set over the river? Wonderful!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shmurdoch
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Beautiful house in a beautiful location. We were attending a wedding in Chateau Soulac, which was less than 10 minutes away, very convenient. Jenny and Peter were very hospitable and always on hand to advise with any queries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex63
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location idyllic and peaceful , the owners couldn't have been more hospitable.”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Jenny was very helpful with her advice and we loved the extras such as wine and raspberry tarts! The house was very comfortable It was just a short hop to use the pool which was next door. The kitchen was very well equipped. The river view was very relaxing we enjoyed hearing the birds and fish using it. Would recommend holiday for anyone wanting to get away from it all. Thank you Jenny it was a brilliant stay!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitch3529
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You really don't need to bring anything but yourselves and, of course, your cossie!”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This house really is an home from home with everything provided that you would need on your holiday, from a fully equipped kitchen with all the utensils you would ever need, an huge range cooker, microwave and dishwasher through to a brand new washing machine.
It has two bathrooms with the one downstairs being invaluable if you have small children.
The 3 bedrooms are generous in size with loads of space for clothes and have very comfortable beds.
The front terrace is literally overlooking the Dordogne and we never tired of eating out there morning, noon and night! The road is a dead end so only visitors' cars ever passed by.
Yes, the pool is in the back garden of the owners' house next door but you really do have exclusive use throughout the day. This would be more problematic if you had non-swimmers as you can't see them from the rental property.
The owners were always very discreet but on hand should we have questions. They are very knowledgeable about the area, restaurant and market recommendations and things to do.
If you're looking for a fancy chateau, this is not it! It's a typical French house equipped with everything you need for an hassle-free holiday. And they even welcomed our very boisterous puppy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and pool
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing