We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
100
305
210
48
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
305
210
48
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationpain in the neckdecent buffet breakfastexcellent locationa long train ridecar rentalold towncycling tournoisy at nightmain stationhuge roomminute walkreasonable sizepublic transportspent nightsrestaurants and shopscentral location
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2015

For an overnight stay in Strasbourg, my wife and I booked into the Grand Hôtel, simply for its proximity to the station. After having stayed there, we are still unsure what makes it "Grand"; it's an unprepossessing place, well-kept, but lacking in character; and how it obtains three stars is a mystery.

Nothing really to complain about: the place is clean and seems to work efficiently. Our room was uninteresting, with a view on to a back courtyard, but at least fairly quiet. However, there is not much to distinguish it from the Ibis next door – except the price. We felt overcharged for what we got.

Nevertheless, the service was generally good and friendly, and one receptionist stood out from the rest. I forget the name – Marina or Marie, perhaps – but her welcoming smile and her infectious enthusiasm are hard to forget. She explained things to us and answered our questions patiently in good English, recommending a suitable place to eat in the vicinity. Unfortunately she was not on duty when we checked out, since I feel I didn’t thank her enough.

In general, you could find better places to stay, but good staff do make a difference.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We have stayed at this hotel several times as a stop off on our way to or from Switzerland. It is located on the Place de la Gare, opposite the main railway station. The old town "Le Petit France" is about 10 minutes walk away, the cathedral a little further. The rooms seem to vary - some are small and a bit gloomy, others spacious and light. The first room we had fell into the former category although it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower had a mind of its own and the only was we could use it was by wedging a sponge between the top of the riser rail and the wall. We also had only one hand towel, but as we were only staying one night we didn't mention this. On our return a fortnight later we had a much better room (519) which was a room for disabled persons. It was large, fresh-looking and bright, with plenty of storage. The en-suite was a wet room with a large walk-in shower. This worked well enough, but as so often happens with this arrangement the whole floor gets wet and you end up going for a paddle next time you go to the toilet. Free Wi-Fi is available, easy to set up and relatively fast. There is no restaurant, but a breakfast room where you can get an adequate but limited breakfast. Surprisingly this only opens at 7 a.m., which is no good if you have an early train to catch. There is no dedicated car park, but you can get a multi-day ticket in the underground car park almost opposite. In summary, the hotel is fine for a one night stopover, but if you want to stay longer you need to try to get one of the bigger, brighter rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are bigger but noisier.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Good location but our deluxe room wasn't! Noisy plumbing from next door and the room below and situated above the row of rubbish bins below the window. Décor was tired and uninspiring with stained and worn through carpet.

Really needs some refurbishing

Room Tip: Elsewhere would be a good idea
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Le Grand Hotel is best described as an "Excellent Value" for business or pleasure in Strasbourg, France. The staff are very informed, helpful and friendly. The rooms are a reasonable size, clean, have comfortable beds, a small refrigerator and 40" flat screen TV. I was traveling by train, spent three (3) nights there, and the location was perfect. The historic city center, 1st class shopping and lots of restaurants are near by. They have a very nice breakfast buffet in the morning. Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Strasbourg, Operating Director at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015

Dear Guest,

It's always a pleasure to read such a nice feedback. Be sure that your remarks about service will be shared with the rest of the team.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in a not too distant future, and I personally hope to have the pleasure of meeting you at that time.

Best regards

Nathalie TRITRE
Directrice d'Exploitation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

The hotel is situated a few hundred metres from the railway station which saves you a taxi ride. Since the centre of town is small this is a good location. The hotel is reasonably quiet. We had ordered a regular double room and were upgraded to a huge room with suite. Breakfast is all right. WiFi works well and is free, but you have to renew your code every eight hours which is a nuisance.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fischels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Strasbourg, Directrice d'Exploitation at Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2015
Google Translation

Cher Client,

Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire sur TripAdvisor. Nous sommes très heureux d'apprendre que nous avons pleinement répondu à vos attentes, en particulier en termes de localisation, d'équipements.
Concernant le wifi, nous sommes en cours de changement d'appareil de sorte à ce que vous soyez illimité en terme de durée.

En espérant avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau prochainement.

Très Cordialement,

Nathalie TRITRE
Directrice d'Exploitation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews