We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Carribean around!”
Review of The Drop Bar Cafe

The Drop Bar Cafe
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 04/12
20:00
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #150 of 2 460 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Chorlton
Description: Authentic Caribbean Food famous for it's friendly warm atmosphere, exciting spicey food and well matched cocktails and local beer. Other items The Drop Is Famous for are The Hench Boxes, Cocktails, Fried Dumplings, Jerk Chicken, Lamb Chops, Macaroni Cheese, Caribbean Roast dinners, Ackee and Saltfish, Fish Stew and Brown Stew Chicken
Reviewed 27 February 2021

This restaurant never fails to amaze me. I first came to the drop bar before lockdown and had an amazing meal, and since then I have had three take aways; each one more exceptional than the last. I never write reviews, but after eating the food I had just had, I felt moved to let EVERYONE know how delicious this was.

I order a hench box from here every time. Two mains, Rice and Pea, Dumpling, Coleslaw and Plaintain. You know when you go to a takeaway and and there's bare things you want to try..? This box gives you beautiful servings of all the things you want, and great customisability on the mains which means everyone will be happy! I would advise for two people to get a hench box and some extra wings. You will not be disappointed. It is amazing value for money and the quality of food is SUPERB. Easily the best Carribean food I've ever tried.

5/5 cannot rate higher! Plus our food came in 25/30 mins! Cannot wait to eat in the shop when lockdown is over.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoboJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2021

I used to love this place as they made the best jerk chicken and mac & cheese but lately the food has really gone downhill. The delivery is always fast but the quality of the food is really not what it used to be. I received a mac & cheese today with 4 different kind of pasta, it was overcooked, burned and tasted awful. The roast was flavourless and soggy, I won’t be ordering from them again.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank LenaJamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021

i ordered via deliveroo today my first time from the drop bar cafe; and i had to come on here to say how unbelievably amazing the food was. i ordered the hence drop box (curry goat and jerk chicken with a side of mac.) incredibly fresh ! taste like real good home cooked food. i’ve eaten in many Caribbean restaurants even on the islands and what i just had was far by one of the best. i’m shocked i eat a lot and i couldn’t finish the amount i received but that means left overs for tomorrow! i really really can not wait to visit for table service and i will definitely be ordering again in the meantime. i just wanted to say thank you. happy sunday.
HATS OFF TO THE CHEF

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank 873haydnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

Ordered Hench Box meal Peppered Steak. Arrived on time. The Steak was Bad Quality... The Presentation was the worst I've had, who put Salad and Coleslawe under Rice n Steak just Terrible. My Son ordered Jerk Chicken and Chips too recieve Rice instead of chips..What a Joke. I will never Visi or Order from here again. TERRIBLE

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank kofi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2020

Succulent tender meat- worth an order with the fried dumplings on the side so crispy and the sweet plantain

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Sahragorser5028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Drop Bar Cafe also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Drop Bar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.