We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional food”
Review of Tattu

Tattu
Reserve with OpenTable
Tattu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 2 532 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$59 - US$185
Description: Tattu Restaurant & Bar offers diners a culinary experience like no other in the city. Located on Gartside Street, Spinningfields, the restaurant's menu embraces traditional Asian flavours and delivers contemporary Chinese cuisine with delicate dim sum, stunning presentation and distinctive flavour combinations. The 93-cover restaurant is located on the first floor, with intimate table and booth seating that can cater for bookings of up to 10 guests. The stunning cosmopolitan interior provides the ideal setting for both social occasions and corporate entertaining. The bar is located on ground floor and offers an unrivaled selection of unique cocktails, wines and spirits. Booths are available to book with table service provided. The Parlour is Tattu's opulent private hire area and the most exclusive space in Manchester. It can fit up to 60 guests for a drinks and canapé reception and is serviced by its own entrance, bar and restroom facilities. The luxurious aesthetic provides the perfect setting for exclusive events, functions and meetings. TATTU's restaurant is open from 12-14:30pm then 17:00-10:00pm Monday to Thursday and Sunday evening. On Friday, Saturday we are open 12:00-17:00pm Then 17:00-11:00pm. The Bar area however is open throughout the times stated below.
Restaurant details
Description: Tattu Restaurant & Bar offers diners a culinary experience like no other in the city. Located on Gartside Street, Spinningfields, the restaurant's menu embraces traditional Asian flavours and delivers contemporary Chinese cuisine with delicate dim sum, stunning presentation and distinctive flavour combinations. The 93-cover restaurant is located on the first floor, with intimate table and booth seating that can cater for bookings of up to 10 guests. The stunning cosmopolitan interior provides the ideal setting for both social occasions and corporate entertaining. The bar is located on ground floor and offers an unrivaled selection of unique cocktails, wines and spirits. Booths are available to book with table service provided. The Parlour is Tattu's opulent private hire area and the most exclusive space in Manchester. It can fit up to 60 guests for a drinks and canapé reception and is serviced by its own entrance, bar and restroom facilities. The luxurious aesthetic provides the perfect setting for exclusive events, functions and meetings. TATTU's restaurant is open from 12-14:30pm then 17:00-10:00pm Monday to Thursday and Sunday evening. On Friday, Saturday we are open 12:00-17:00pm Then 17:00-11:00pm. The Bar area however is open throughout the times stated below.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I recently visited for a corporate evening as a guest of a contractor of mine. We were looked after throughout the evening and were treated to some exceptional dishes. The whole evening was hugely enjoyable and would hope to visit again when I'm next in Manchester.

1  Thank tcichris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieraDelima, Manager at Tattu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Hello there!

On behalf of all the team we would like to start by thanking you for the time you have taken to share your experience. We are so happy to read your review and hope you will choose to join us again in the future!

Our team know our product and offering very well and can make great recommendations both for guests who want dishes they know will suit their preferences and for guests who want to try something slightly unusual. We will make sure everyone receives your kind comments.

Thank you again for your time!

Team TATTU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 247 of 2 517 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Quite a few of my family and friends have visited Tattu before and on a trip with my friend to Manchester we thought we should try it. When we arrived we were greeted by our waiter Tom, who was wonderful all night. As it was our first visit, he kindly explained how the menu worked and we decided to choose the tapas option, where you select a number of small dishes and he advised us of the amount of food we’d need for the two of us. All of the food was delicious and I felt we got well sized portions for the cost of the dishes. Our glasses of water were regularly filled and we felt well looked after. I would highly recommend.

1  Thank emmatthh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieraDelima, Manager at Tattu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Hello there!

On behalf of everyone here at TATTU thank you for your review and sharing your experience with your readers, its means alot to the team to receive such positive feedback!

Our menu is truly unique and our head chef creates dishes with both a mix of tradition Asian food putting TATTU's individual twist on each one. Our restaurant team know our menu extremely well and are so good at recommending and choosing dishes to suit each guest, we will be sure to pass on your feedback to Tom.

We hope you will be joining us again soon in the further and thank you once again for your time!

Many thanks,

Team TATTU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Never been treated so badly in a restaurant ever.
Having had a previous poor experience last Xmas eve when i booked a table for the family at 4 o’clock , they omitted to tell me until after the starter that the kitchen was now closed. The manager at the time was rude and basically didn’t give a damn so we left hungry and disappointed. Not a lot of other places open to celebrate Xmas last minute at that time of year so it spoiled our xmas festivities!
Never mind I thought , let’s give them the benefit of the doubt and try again. What a mistake. Main meal came and every dish was cold so they replaced them and offered a free bottle of wine and 1/2 price meal. Only it wasn’t half price because they doubled the bill.
One of the bouncers then came over and escorted me out of the restaurant to my surprise. What? For complaining about the cold food and double charging???
No, apparently I was “abusing” the staff according the manageress who was shouting it through the doorway at me!
I hadn’t said a bad word or raised my voice. Utterly shocked at the way I was treated!!!
If you want good food and good service .... this is definitely one to avoid!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieraDelima, Owner at Tattu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hi Wayne,

As you mention this was not your first experience at the restaurant and therefore was the second time our team was subjected to bad language and aggressive behaviour.
On Christmas Eve we had made all guests aware of our early closing time but your refusal to leave and further refusal to pay for your drinks was unnecessary. It is not uncommon to close early on Christmas Eve as our large team has families around the country that we wanted them to be able to travel to in time. After this visit we were not prepared to accept future bookings from yourself.
The fact that this recent booking was under a different first name meant that you were able to attend and it wasn't until your behaviour escalated that the manager from Christmas Eve was able to confirm your previous visit, which you at first denied to our team.
Mistakes can be made and we pride ourselves on rectifying them, our team care a great deal about the customer experience and are very passionate about what they do. After two of our most talented servers refused to go back to your table because of how uncomfortable they were made to feel our manager made the decision to ask you to leave.
We do seriously question your motive for returning after your first visit and combined with your behaviour on the night it would appear you intended to cause discomfort to our team once more. Tattu does not accept abusive or threatening language towards any of our hard working staff and as a result you will not be welcome at any of our establishments again.

Tattu Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

The food was amazing, the atmosphere was special with the music and the Oriental floral/nautical theme and the service was the best bit of all, out waitor was so attentive and knew the menu inside out.I would really recommend the 'sharer menus' (went for menu 3). It was quite expensive but not overpriced when you take everything into account- equivalent of a Michelin experience, 5 stars.

1  Thank jamsterjordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieraDelima, Manager at Tattu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hello there!

On behalf of everyone here at TATTU thank you for your comments, we are delighted you chose to join us!

We have a range of dining options and our set menus are perfect if you want to take time sampling some of our most popular and favorite dishes from the season, thank you for your feedback on this. We are also lucky to have a strong team who offer a professional and friendly service to each guest that have extensive knowledge on our offering, we will be sure to pass on all feedback to all.

Thank you once again for your time, we hope to be welcoming you back to TATTU soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

After reading countless glowing appraisals of Tattu on TripAdvisor, my family and I decided to dine there to celebrate my dad's 50th birthday. As we were dining there for the first time and the wide range of food on the menu was a little overwhelming, we opted for Set Menu 2. However, any apprehension quickly evaporated once we were placed in the capable hands of our waiter, Pierre. He was friendly and attentive without being intrusive, and he was more than happy to explain any of the dishes to us. His cheery demeanour enhanced the whole experience, thus why he's receiving a special mention in this review! The food itself was incredible, exquisitely presented and unlike anything we had ever eaten before. We found the Set Menu we ordered was ideal; we sampled the Dim-Sum, the ribs, crab cakes, Szechuan seabass just to name a few. The desserts, however, were the highlight of the experience - we had the Cherry Blossom and Chocolate Fondant and they were nothing short of divine. These aspects combined with the comfortable atmosphere, the restaurant's extraordinary interior decoration (as we dined beneath a cherry blossom tree - albeit a fake one) all equated to an incredible evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank _jessclarke27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieraDelima, Manager at Tattu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Hello Jess!

On behalf of all the team here at TATTU we would like to thank you for sharing your experience, it's always great to hear that guests have chosen to visit us on special occasions and we hope you had a fabulous time celebrating with us.

Our set menus range in price and are designed to provide guests with a selection of our most favorite dishes, we're delighted that you were able to sample one of these and thank you for sharing your personal favorites! Our servers work hard to provide a service that is both personal and attentive without being too overbearing and we will pass all of your feedback to our team, especially Pierre.

We hope to be welcoming you back to TATTU very soon, and once again thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tattu also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Tattu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing