We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$84
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$129
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 05/08
US$121
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$97
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$101
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Midland(Manchester)
US$171
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

YHA Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
US$32
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$86
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$114
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travelodge Manchester Central(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$49/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1 895)
Filter reviews
1 895 results
Traveller rating
1 323
388
100
44
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 323
388
100
44
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanal streetfresh milkbalcony roomrubber duckbath butlerdouble baththe penthouselittle toucheson arrivalboutique hotelturn down servicegay villageice bucketmini barroll top bathfantastic hotelsaturday night
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1 895 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well situated for the City centre and all attractions, shopping, nightlife or just people watching..
Excellent well appointed rooms and very quiet considering the location. Five minutes walk to Picaddily railway station.

Room Tip: Yes....cannot remember value..
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank paulrigby57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velvet_MCR, Manager at Velvet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear paulrigby57,

Thank you for your fab review of Velvet Hotel, we’re so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and our central location.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Velvet Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely one night stay in a gorgeous room; king size bed, widescreen TV, espresso machine & bottle of prosecco waiting on ice! Everything was of the highest quality, even the toiletries in the bathroom were lovely L'Occitane products.100% will stay again :)

Room Tip: We got the party package and stayed on a Sunday night - no noise from bar below.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velvet_MCR, Manager at Velvet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jennifer J,

Thank you for your faboulous review of Velvet Hotel & Bar.

We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to us and found everything to your liking.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Velvet Hotel & Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was looking for a suite to stay in and this came up as an option, I have stayed in the hotel before but not in a suite, check in check out fine but for £300 a night the room was very tired I think when your paying this money it should be spot on , bulbs were out cleaning could have been better plug guard missing from shower , iPod dock I hate hotels that advertise these then when you get there it’s ok if your iPhone is from 1960.
Tables , settle very worn only a double bed with a poor mattress on it.If you compare this to a suite at the radison the raddison is by far superior . Just a tip if you do book this hotel book direct miles cheaper than booking. Com etc, Not a bad experience but nicer hotels for this price tag.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velvet_MCR, Manager at Velvet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tim R,

Thank you for taking the time to review Velvet Hotel& Bar following your recent your, our prices are reflective and in line with the city events and demand, on peak days these can seem quite high but should not affect anyone’s expectations based on price paid, we are a small boutique hotel in a vibrant part of the city.

As the hotel has recently undergone a change of ownership, previously it hasn’t been looked after as it should, however rest assured that there is a full refurbishment programme in place, the restaurant, bar and public areas are now complete and we’re beginning a full refurbishment of all of our guest rooms.

We hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future as we are keen to show off the many changes that are taking place.

Best Wishes,

Velvet Hotel & Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well looked after, always a pleasure to visit, can’t wait to return, staff are so helpful, you won’t find a better city centre hotel, the restaurant & bar are newly renovated & are absolutely stunning.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 571simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velvet_MCR, Guest Relations Manager at Velvet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Deaf 571simon

Thank you for taking the time to share with others your experience of Velvet Hotel, Bar & Mr Whites English Chophouse. We are so pleased to read these fabulous comments and hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

The Velvet team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I couldn't rate Velvet more highly - attentive staff, excellent menu and fabulous bar. we spent an evening in the bar and they had a singer, musicians and a DJ and had the best night. A 2 minute walk from Piccadilly train station makes this the ideal location when staying in Manchester.

Room Tip: Take your pick - all unique and different
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lfuller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velvet_MCR, Guest Relations Manager at Velvet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear lfuller74

Thank you for your great review of of Velvet Hotel, Bar & Mr Whites English Chophouse, we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience here with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Wishes

The Velvet team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews