We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Brother in laws extended birthday”

The Botanist Didsbury
Ranked #453 of 2 466 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Description: It started with a seed. An idea shared amongst friends. They imagined a secret garden, where all can enjoy curious refreshments of nature... A concept like no other, offering a soon to be world-famous selection of botanical cocktails, craft beers and ales, Champagne and wine. Food inspired by the deli, rotisserie and grill. With live music every night, sublime social times are guaranteed!
Restaurant details
Description: It started with a seed. An idea shared amongst friends. They imagined a secret garden, where all can enjoy curious refreshments of nature... A concept like no other, offering a soon to be world-famous selection of botanical cocktails, craft beers and ales, Champagne and wine. Food inspired by the deli, rotisserie and grill. With live music every night, sublime social times are guaranteed!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Following a few days in Bath we finished the Birthday boys week off with a superb meal in the botanist in Didsbury
Starters were Tempura cauliflower, broccoli etc., Prawn salad, Curried hummus and Scotch egg.
Mains were, Veggie kebab, chicken kebab, sirloin steak and chicken and ham pie
Desserts were Sticky toffee pudding, Brownie
All dishes were more than good.
Having visited in the past we were not disappointed.
Catherine, our waitress, was attentive, attractive, a bubbly personality and a person who knew her job, being knowledgeable in the food and wines

Thank Thomson6970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBotanistDidsbury, Front Office Manager at The Botanist Didsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow! What a fantastic review!! We are super pleased to read you had a superb meal here at The Botanist Didsbury :-) We will pass on all your great feedback to our chefs and Catherine.

See you again soon!

The Botanist Team! x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fabulous lunch and lovely staff
Nothing too much trouble and the surroundings are amazing
Will be returning

Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBotanistDidsbury, Front Office Manager at The Botanist Didsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for such a short but sweet review about The Botanist in Didsbury! Cannot wait to welcome you back soon :-)

The Botanist Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve been to the Chester branch a few times and always had a fantastic meal, so thought we try this one on Father’s Day. The food was disappointing I’m sorry to say, very dry meat and soggy veg, the stuffing balls were burnt and stuck to the bowl. The drinks were lovely and the service was very good, our waitress was very friendly and on the ball.

1  Thank Kimberley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBotanistDidsbury, Front Office Manager at The Botanist Didsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kimberley, we are sorry you did not enjoy the food at The Botanist Didsbury on this occasion and would like to look into this matter further. Please can you drop me an email with your contact details at your earliest convenience at didsburybookings@thebotanist.uk.com.

Kind regards,

Saffron
Bookings Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Had a great lunch.The cocktails were really fun. Hanging pork kebabs were such fun and yummy. Really great lunch. Slightly slow to grab waiers attention even though it was relatively quiet.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBotanistDidsbury, Front Office Manager at The Botanist Didsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi Louise,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Botanist Didsbury. We are pleased to read you had a great lunch and enjoyed our hanging kebabs and cocktails. Hope to see you again soon!

The Botanist Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Didn't bode well when at 8.15pm on a Wednesday evening our waiter said they had run out of mashed potato!
Much of the food was only luke warm including the chocolate fondue which was runny to say the least and am still searching for the coconut balls!!?
Our food wasn't awful or inedible, just incredibly disappointing after more pleasurable experiences at other Botanist venues.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Splat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBotanistDidsbury, Front Office Manager at The Botanist Didsbury, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi,

We are extremely disappointed to read our food is not up to our usual standards and would like to investigate this matter further. Please can you contact us our management on didsbury@thebotanist.uk.com at your earliest convenience.

Many thanks,

Saffron
Bookings Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Botanist Didsbury also viewed

Knutsford, Cheshire
Alderley Edge, Cheshire
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Salford, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Botanist Didsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing