We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again.”
Review of Ashworth Barracks

Ashworth Barracks
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The charitable aims of the Victoria Cross Trust who own the museum,fall into 2 main categories, firstly to restore the final resting places of VC recipients not in the care of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission. Secondly to educate the public as their lives and citation details ( why they were awarded a VC). The creation of a museum meets our second charitable aim and income from the museum will cover the first.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 28 June 2018

After visiting in December 17 and having a great time with two of my grandsons I just had to return with my other grandchildren ( two girls 10and 11 and two boys 7 and 9) I can't praise the guides at Ashworth highly enough, he involved them at every stage, they enjoyed it that much they want to go again. This is a really must do museum who's profit helps to restore and maintain the graves of all recipients of the Victoria cross. Don't hesitate visit.

Date of experience: June 2018
3  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"victoria cross"
in 83 reviews
"guided tour"
in 93 reviews
"shooting range"
in 25 reviews
"ex army"
in 20 reviews
"armed forces"
in 14 reviews
"military museum"
in 16 reviews
"zulu wars"
in 8 reviews
"fantastic museum"
in 12 reviews
"army vehicles"
in 7 reviews
"knew his stuff"
in 10 reviews
"assault course"
in 8 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 13 reviews
"volunteer guides"
in 7 reviews
"two hours"
in 23 reviews
"world war"
in 9 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 11 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 7 reviews
Filter

53 - 57 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2018

I have spent a lot of time researching my family tree over the last few years and have recently decided to study the military history of my ancestors in more detail. Visiting Ashworth Barracks was so informative, putting information I had uncovered about such people as my two grandfathers and my father and mother into context. The displays are so interesting and beautifully presented. Steve and Paul, our guides were very knowledgable and their very relaxed way of putting information across made the afternoon so enjoyable. I can feel another visit coming on when I want to pick out certain displays and study them in more depth. Thank you.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Jan4142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

I visited the barracks with two of my grandchildren well worth a visit very interesting and informative special mention to Mick Brand who was first class

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Bud S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

What a wonderful place to visit, as ex military it was a great reminder of when I was a soldier,with weapons and tanks, lots of military memorabilia, and life in the trenches, and a wonderful experience for children of all ages. And there is a tea room, very nice too.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank billweir16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018

as you approach the museum you dont quite realise the size and amount of information you are going to be presented with, this is not a free walk round museum but a well informed guided tour, giving you a total insite to what the Ashworth barracks is all about (victoria cross trust), Paul our guide (very good) and was willing to part with a lot of information, the average tour lasts approximatly 2 hour but dont forget to visit the poppy garden at the side of the museum along with the vechiles

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank ddodd2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ashworth Barracks also viewed

 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Ashworth Barracks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing