We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Miller & Carter

Miller & Carter
Ranked #16 of 557 Restaurants in Doncaster
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here as part of a group of twelve for a family birthday meal on a busy Easter Sunday. The food was decent and the 'Sunday Set Menu' provided reasonable value for money.
What really stood out, however, was the service - which was excellent throughout. I got the impression that the table staff, in particular, make an extra special effort - certainly Paige did all she could to make our experience as enjoyable as possible.
My only real disappointment was the dearth of real ale / craft ale available - one rather uninspiring offering of Doombar (they did, however, take the price of a pint off the bill when I returned a cloudy half consumed pint, as fresh drinks appeared - 'clearly' from a new barrel),

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 212Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi 212Andy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. I'm thrilled that Paige looked after you so well, and will make sure she sees your lovely comments. The Sunday Set Menu is extremely popular with our guests, and it's great to hear that you found it value for money. Your comments regarding the lack of real ale will be passed on to our menu development team, as we are contracted to offer Doombar at the moment, however this may change in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards
Miller & Carter Bessacarr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had fantastic family afternoon meal, great food and great service, the ribeye was top notch as always and Charlotte P made sure we were well looked after at all times

Thank IandC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Iandc1, we're happy you found our staff to be so supportive during your experience here at Miller & Carter Bessacarr. I will make sure Charlotte sees your kind comments, as comments like yours really do motivate the team!

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards
Miller & Carter Bessacarr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First visit and will definitely return. Waitresses knowledgeable about the menu. We followed their recommendation and were not disappointed. Starter to share was amazing and biltong steak cooked to perfection. Too fill for a pudding although plenty of choice. Highly recommend.

Thank Idristaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Idristaff, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us!

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards
Miller & Carter Bessacarr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second time here and it didn't disappoint. The steaks were cooked exactly as we had asked (which doesn't happen very often at other places!), the waitresses were very friendly and attentive, the Sunday 3 course set menu had a good selection and the food was delicious. The only negative I would say was that the desserts were not clearly marked with dietary requirements. There was only a 'V' next to each dessert but no other letters. We had a nut allergy in the group so had to ask for each dessert as we like to share! It does state at the bottom (in very small print!) that you can ask about allergies but surely having a V for vegan would mean that each dessert has been checked for everything else e.g gluten, nuts etc which is done by most restaurants now.

Thank 86jess86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jess,

Thank you for your review following your recent visit, we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your meal. We do have all the relevant information available which lists all of our dishes and the allergens they contain, this guide is available for all guests and your server will be able to go through this with you to check the relevant dishes.

Kind Regards

Miller & Carter Bessacarr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great food excellent service not the cheapest place to eat but worth every penny. Service is best in the area

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jd,

Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit to us at Miller & Carter.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Miller & Carter Bessacarr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller & Carter also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Miller & Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing