We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting

This has always been an interesting and enjoyable place to visit somewhere for all the family. The... read more

Reviewed yesterday
spcopeland
Fantastic Place to visit

We visited the Black Country Living Museum last year. What a wonderful experience. We spoke to a... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Dawn G
Read all 4 721 reviews
  
Reviews (4 721)
Filter reviews
4 721 results
Traveller rating
3 071
1 169
308
108
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3 071
1 169
308
108
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips chip shop the pub coal mine workers institute chain making beef dripping trolley bus brick by brick drift mine school lesson canal trip gift aid period costume fun fair fairground rides all ages
Filter
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 4 721 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Visiting with our kids (22+ in age) we had a super day.
You don’t need to be a Yam Yam to enjoy the BCLM or understand the guides. Lots to see and at your own pace. There is nothing I could faulty with it.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Constructionman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We spent a very interesting day here with friends and because we had gift-aided we were able to go back again the next week to see all the things we had missed the first time. It was great to see people in costume going about their everyday lives and talking to them about what it used to be like. The trip on the underground canal was very good, with our guide, Simon, who was very knowledgeable and amusing.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank paulateers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We went the weekend of the transport event, which was very interesting, then we walked around the rest of the BCLM. It's more compact than Beamish, which was good for my poor old arthritic knee, but interesting and the staff/volunteers are very knowledgeable/ informative.

Only minus points - Not enough staff on duty in the gift shop and the parking system (park up, then get a token from the gift shop at the end before leaving - see previous point about not enough staff on duty in the gift shop).

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank CarannSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Plenty to see and do here the way the"actors"bring the past to life is great.
They talk to the young children and make it simple to understand what is around them (our grandson is 4) and he enjoyed it.
If you come here you must try the chips and a drink in the old pub but you must go to the school and take part in the classroom lesson it's fun but a little frightening on how it was maybe this is where schools today have got it wrong and the do gooders have made the world we live in. (Just my thoughts).
Only downside to be honest was £3.50 to park your car (Come on management really) and the funfair a little expensive.
Otherwise great day out, try it.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 1962panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

What an amazing place - thoroughly recommended for everyone - just a great day out and the Workers institute was great for a meal - will be going back!!!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews