We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful place to stay!”

Review of Roeburnscar

Window seat in sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Window seat in sitting room
Entrance Heron superking bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Window seat in sitting room
Entrance
Heron superking bedroom
Roeburndale valley showing meadows and woods of Backsbottom Farm
Roeburnscar from Roeburn river
Path up into woods from cottage
Main sitting room
View to Whernside and Three Peaks
Main kitchen
Buzzard twin bedroom
Deer in field next to cottage
Heron
Roeburndale bluebells
Drive towards cottage
Cottage viewed from garden
Flat sitting room
Entrance into drive
Flat sitting room
Garden pond
Verandah
Flat bedroom
Flat bedroom door
Owl twin bedroom
Flat sitting room
Floor plan
Flat patio
Entrance to drive on Roeburndale East road
Garden pond
Dippper single bedroom
Path up to house from garden
Roeburndale bluebells
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Lancaster, Lancaster District, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jackie S
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This was a beautiful place to stay while I was helping my mother who lives nearby to pack to move. The sound and views of the rushing stream, being in the forest, and a gorgeous walk every morning before leaving helped reduce the stress of the move. The owner was very helpful when needed and took care of whatever I needed, and the place was spotlessly clean!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
So glad that the house gave you a base whilst you were here for your mother.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy K
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enchanting place”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

What a lovely place to stay , we were a party of 10 and 2 dogsl, included 2 little ones (aged 4 months old and 2 years) . This place wraps it's arms around you and makes you feel you are a million miles away from any hustle and bustle. We enjoyed a pre christmas family get together with A big christmas dinner and woodland walks. We really loved staying here and I have a feeling we will definitely be returning . The cabin was comfortable , roomy and had bags of character. Loved the Eco element to the place and views to die for

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Not quite enough cooking equipment , pans etc but we were cooking for 10 !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2014
Lovely to hear about your experience at the cottage and your feedback is very much appreciated-many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WirralGib...
Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just returned from celebrating 3 family birthdays. Accommodation was perfect for our needs with 2 king size rooms, a twin and a single together with 2 bathrooms, 1 with bath and 1 with shower.
Large living room with wood burning fire opening onto a porch overlooking the Roeburn river. Separate dining room and a kitchen with lots of crockery and cooking pots too. The wine and biscuits on arrival was also a nice touch.
We particularly enjoyed Rod's informative walk on Saturday and enjoyed learning about the trees and the area in general. Every question was answered very fully!
We all agred we would definitely stay here again. Thank you Rod and Jane for an excellent weekend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thank you so much everyone for coming and for the great review. We're really glad your family stay was enjoyed so much and thanks for enjoying the woodland walk .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M L
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquility and comfort in a glorious woodland setting”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We were a group of 7 staying in the house (excluding the flat) with ages from 2 to 70 including one person with limited mobility. I agree 100% with the extensive comments posted 18 Feb 14. Only to add that for 2 days I felt no inclination to go anywhere other than to explore on foot the extensive valley of the Roeburn which is under the same ownership as the house. A mixture of mature woodland, rocky crags, lowland meadows and a rushing river which is packed with wildlife including deer, buzzards, dippers and herons). It is an idyllic world in which to lose yourself - both mentally and sometimes in reality.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and the special description of this lovely area and for enjoying it all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma O
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sheltered, riverside peace - we really relaxed.”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We'd never stayed in this area before, and were surprised by its loveliness. This is a hidden gem in a beautiful, sheltered valley and we were lulled to sleep each night by the sound of the river running through the gorge below.

The single-floor arrangement made the accommodation suitable both for the toddler and the older guests, whereas the sheltered balcony overlloking the river was great for teenagers to curl up and hang out. The cabin had plenty enough living-space to allow everyone to spread out and not get on top of each other.

The well-insulated eco-design also meant that the house was constantly warm - I hate staying in chilly houses! The dining table comfortably sat all seven of us and the kitchen is full of big pans (although we didn't find a microwave, which would have been handy). I love eating as a big family and we've got hearty appetites, so this was great.

Great for nature-lovers, with private woodland to explore and bird-life in abundance. It's also a really attractive place in which to stay, with a lot of characterful wood features and fabrics. Don't expect a huge TV and comprehensive Sky package - it ain't that kind of place.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Thank you so much Martin for the review --a brilliant description -I couldn't have put it better myself.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$244
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing