We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family break”
other traveller has booked this property
Bright and light, The Old Stables Conservatory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bright and light, The Old Stables Conservatory
Huge conservatory in Woodpecker, magnificent fireplace & woodburning stove. Amazing panoramic views Huge dining table & seating in Woodpecker. Ideal for a large gathering. Lovely crockery & glassware.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Bright and light, The Old Stables Conservatory
Huge conservatory in Woodpecker, magnificent fireplace & woodburning stove. Amazing panoramic views
Huge dining table & seating in Woodpecker. Ideal for a large gathering. Lovely crockery & glassware.
Huge, fully equipped with Aga stove, oak Mark Wilkinson kitchen.
Huge, comfy seating area in the Old Stables with stone fireplace and woodburning stove.
Huge, spacious, living, dining, kitchen of Woodpecker.  Ideal for large groups of family & friends.
Comfy seating area in Partridge cottage. Stone fireplace with woodburning stove.
The Piggeries! Aga stove for real country living - plus a separate electric oven.
Mole End, lovely, large Mark Wilkinson designer hand painted and oak fully equipped kitchen with Aga
The Piggeries orangery style dining room
Enjoy relaxing & comfortable mealtimes in all the cottages. Lots of crockery, cutlery & glassware.
Partridge cottage, fully equipped Mark Wilkinson designer hand painted kitchen
Old Stables kitchen, lots of beautiful crockery, and crystal glassware in all the cottages
Woodpecker, with covered bbq area, huge new fire & seating, amazing views  countryside to the coast
The Piggeries at night
Huge en suite family bedroom in Woodpecker, king size bed, two single beds, sofa and armchair
Newly refurbished family room, with double & single beds in Old Stables.
Pretty, newly refurbished double bedroom in Old Stables
Newly refurbished twin bedroom in Old Stables
Pretty groundfloor bedroom in the Old Stables
Pretty & comfortable twin bedroom, newly refurbished in the Old Stables.
Mole End, pretty twin bedrooms with en suite bathroom
Spectacular sunsets and amazing views across the countryside to the coast
Ground floor en suite bath/wet room in Mole End
Ground floor en suite wet room in Mole End
Ground floor en suite bath/wet room in Woodpecker cottage.
Ground floor, newly refurbished, spacious en suite wet room in Woodpecker, grab rails & seating.
A little motto, for an outlook on life - sometimes!
Lots of visiting wildlife to the cottages and down our country lane
Walks in beautiful countryside minutes from our door with Callie and Fluff the pony.
Walks with Callie, Maggie the puggle and Fluff along the nearby river 10 minutes from the cottages,
Fluff our pet pony, also pet lambs and chickens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
19 Bedrooms, 18 Bathrooms, Sleeps 50
Preston, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jason N
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic family break”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at the spring bank holidays and from the moment we arrived the kids were completely entertained. They made friends with some other children staying in the other cottages and played non stop the whole time we were there. The tennis courts and play were superb and the owners were so accommodating and very friendly. We went for a meal to the Italian orchard while staying at Barnacre and it was superb, top quality food in a very upmarket yet child friendly environment. We can't speak highly enough of this place and will definitely come back. Thanks so much for your kind attentive service which helped make our break one to remember.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Old Stables was a wonderful, comfortable, spacious place to stay.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We all enjoyed our holiday in this lovely place. It was a celebratory week and this superb place gave all of us the space and comfort to enjoy ourselves.
The children loved the play area and the tennis courts were used happily by all age groups.
The cottage is ideally situated for trips to the Lakes and to explore the beautiful Trough of Bowland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked the kitchen and conservatory areas
Liked least: suite
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FatCatCat...
mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simly Wonderful”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stayed in Mole End with my wife, younger son, grandad and great aunt. We had a ball.

The cottage was immaculate, and so warm, we live out the UK in a very hot country so the under floor heating, Aga and wood fire were fabulous.

Everything worked perfectly in the cottage, the views were outstanding, you could see Blackpool Tower on the horizon. Pheasants running around everywhere too.

Excellent food shopping in Garstang15 mins by car through the beautiful countryside.

Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness of the cottage.
Liked least: Weak internet, however it was in the middle the countryside......
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another great holiday at barnacre”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This is our fourth trip to barnacre. The accommodation is superb, very cosy cottage and well equipped. We love the tennis courts, walking and cycling. There are plenty of local attractions for our 9 yr old children- beacon fell country park, wild boar farm, cycle tracks, Blackpool zoo and guy's hamlet is a great local family restaurant. Barnacre's owners Terry and Sue are very welcoming and obliging. We will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall...
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“The Quintessential England Country Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Our large family group of 10 from Salt Lake City, UT visited England together for an extended trip in August. We looked for a location to stay in the Preston area within reach of all the interesting sites of northwest England. We found the Barnacre cottages on the Internet. Since it was our first trip of this sort, we did not know what to expect. Needless to say, we were very, very pleased to find this cottage. It met all our needs and more. It is situated in the lovely countryside on a hillside overlooking the area of Garstang. Driving the country roads meandering though the region took some getting used to; it is off the beaten path, but not too far away from access to the M6 and the city.
We stayed in the Old Stables cottages. It fit our needs perfectly - we could not imagine better accomodations. The rooms were immaculate, the kitchen and dining area modern and functional. The solar room was a great place to rest and relax, and see the chickens walking across the yard. The tennis court and play area were great for the kids to use; with an impressive view of the surrounding area all the way to Blackpool and the ocean. The location makes for lovely sunset scenes.
The Sharples were delightful hosts; friendly and responsive in arranging the reservation, introducing us to the cottage, and answering queries.
All family members agreed that we would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing