We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th birthday surprise”

Ego at The Fox Cub, Little Hoole
Ranked #26 of 561 Restaurants in Preston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$29
Description: Enjoy freshly cooked Mediterranean food, wine, cocktails and cask ales in a charming country style pub, located between Southport and Preston. Situated along the A59, a few miles from the Ribble Estuary and Leyland, Ego at The Fox Cub is a must visit for its Mediterranean food, family friendly dining, large al fresco dining area and beer garden. Our menu boasts a mixture of the best cuisine from across the Mediterranean including French, Spanish, Italian, Greek and Moroccan classics. Our a la carte menu offers plenty of fish and seafood options, delicious steaks, pizza, pasta and paella as well as a large choice of vegetarian dishes to choose from. We also have dedicated vegan and gluten free menus, a Sunday roast menu and two kids’ menus for the children to choose from, so we’re confident they’ll be something for everyone to enjoy
Restaurant details
Description: Enjoy freshly cooked Mediterranean food, wine, cocktails and cask ales in a charming country style pub, located between Southport and Preston. Situated along the A59, a few miles from the Ribble Estuary and Leyland, Ego at The Fox Cub is a must visit for its Mediterranean food, family friendly dining, large al fresco dining area and beer garden. Our menu boasts a mixture of the best cuisine from across the Mediterranean including French, Spanish, Italian, Greek and Moroccan classics. Our a la carte menu offers plenty of fish and seafood options, delicious steaks, pizza, pasta and paella as well as a large choice of vegetarian dishes to choose from. We also have dedicated vegan and gluten free menus, a Sunday roast menu and two kids’ menus for the children to choose from, so we’re confident they’ll be something for everyone to enjoy
Reviewed 9 October 2021 via mobile

9th October
Had a fantastic meal the food was all very nice ,the staff were very friendly helpful and attentive ,nothing was a problem.the service exceptional. Thank you for a lovely afternoon.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Ofin2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations Manager, Marketing at Ego at The Fox Cub, Little Hoole, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2021

Thank you for the wonderful 5 - star,

Glad to hear you had a great time celebrating your 40th with us,

Hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1 113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 1 113 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2021 via mobile

We have been many times and always excellent service and food. Staff are friendly and always have the time to chat. Last night we went for my birthday and as i am an ego club member my meal was free. Will continue visiting and recommend it to anyone who is looking for somewhere nice, relaxed, friendly and reasonably priced to dine. X

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Z4252DPjackien
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Ego at The Fox Cub, Little Hoole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2021

Happy birthday!

Glad to hear you have a wonderful time with us,

Hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2021

Lovely meal again the staff are realy nice and the manager always has a talk to us i think we have tried everything on the menue now and all good.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Ego at The Fox Cub, Little Hoole, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2021

Thank you for the wonderful review, Susan,

Hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2021

My husband and I have visited this restaurant many times. The food and service have always been very good.
However last night the quality of the food has gone down hill. I always have the same thing on the menu and I noticed a difference.
The lamb kofta starter was smaller and not presented very well. The morrrocan chicken was ok, but not much chicken, just lots of veg and a huge amount of olives(which never used to be in the dish).
My husband had the fishcake which was ok, followed by the lamb rump, which was tough, no flavour to the gravy and the dauphinoise potato was mash potato!
I then had the mini dessert and coffee. The mini dessert was very mini, size of a sweetie.
Some wines were out of stock, but in the current climate you have to expect that. Service was just ok.
What has happened to this place? Is it a new chef ? Or has head office changed suppliers and recipe's?

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Sjpimlico
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Ego at The Fox Cub, Little Hoole, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2021

Sorry to learn about your disappointment, I do apologize if you were unhappy with any of the dishes.

Please always let a member of staff know if you are unhappy with anything so they can address and resolve any issues. We never want our guests to leave unhappy.

I have passed your feedback on to the management and kitchen,

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2021

Hubby and I had a lovely meal with delicious food and friendly efficient staff. We are both members of the Ego club and as this was my birthday, my 3 courses were on the house!
I had the Moroccan Chicken and hubby had the Seabass. Good choices!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank caloriecounter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Ego at The Fox Cub, Little Hoole, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2021

Thank you for the 5 - stars,

Glad to hear you had a fab time celebrating with us,

Hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ego at The Fox Cub, Little Hoole also viewed

 
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to Ego at The Fox Cub, Little Hoole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.