We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement”
Review of The Essex Arms

The Essex Arms
Ranked #199 of 278 Restaurants in Watford
Price range: US$1 - US$29
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Impersonal on arrival, menus sticky and unclean. Order taken well at counter but other customers found bar had precedence over food orders being taken.
Starters very prompt and hot. Mains from set menus all arrived together. However sea bass was very overdone, and vegetables tasteless. Long wait for desserts which were good when they came. Set menus are a good idea and obviously work for normal occasions.
An unfortunate further drop from previous visits.

Thank 64blackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Essex Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry to hear about your experience we hope you do try as again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We received a warm welcome from friendly staff. Service was fast and efficient and although we didn't eat, the food being served looked good with generous portion sizes. Prices looked reasonable too. Plenty of tables, plus outside for warmer days. We will be back for food soon. Worth a visit.

Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Essex Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in here on our way back from dancing on a Sunday afternoon only to be told they had no roasts left. We unfortunately chose to eat here mid menu change so nearly everything we wanted was unavailable. The kids fish goujon and chips was ok except for the bullets they called peas. The slow cooked beef was ok but warm not hot and the half a chicken was small. It’s a shame really because we enjoy eating at the ember inns chain but the essex arms needs so work. Tables were left full of plates even after the customers had left. Our meals were all warm, not hot and the staff were just standing around chatting. Might try this place out again just to give them a second chance.

Thank Tulah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Essex Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you very much for your feedback we do apologise we do try to have our Sunday roast but it all depends on the custom and how many we sell so quick please try us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

We came for dinner and had good meal. The staff werent overly friendly, but they did the job. The food came out in decent time and was tasty. The only negatives are the tables werent wiped clean and the floors havent been swept in awhile. I think this pub is best for having just drinks and snacks. There are plenty of tables and cosy corners to hang out in.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jc795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Essex Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

we do hope that you come back and try us again ....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Shockingly bad service
Had to go up to bar for drinks
Spent over £100 and they just leave us
Dont clear table and forgot desserts for us
No adults on site
Run by juveniles who dont have a clue
Sort it out

Thank Roseanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Essex Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

very sorry to hear that I do hope you will come back and try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Essex Arms also viewed

Watford, Hertfordshire
 
Watford, Hertfordshire
Croxley Green, Hertfordshire
 
Watford, Hertfordshire
Kings Langley, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Essex Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing