We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but a little disorganised”
Review of Thai Orchid

Thai Orchid
Ranked #42 of 353 Restaurants in Maidstone
Price range: US$7 - US$46
Description: We are an authentic Thai restaurant right on the River Medway in Maidstone. We offer lunch specials Monday to Saturday, an all-you-can-eat fixed price Sunday buffet and a full a-la-carte menu. We have a wide range of dishes for vegetarians and can cater well for diners with food allergies and intolerances as our food is freshly-made by our Thai chefs. We also have a day-time menu in our downstairs waterfront Orchid cafe-bar from 12am everyday, including Thai and English food. We have BBQ's on the terrace in summer and live music every Thursday night.
Restaurant details
Description: We are an authentic Thai restaurant right on the River Medway in Maidstone. We offer lunch specials Monday to Saturday, an all-you-can-eat fixed price Sunday buffet and a full a-la-carte menu. We have a wide range of dishes for vegetarians and can cater well for diners with food allergies and intolerances as our food is freshly-made by our Thai chefs. We also have a day-time menu in our downstairs waterfront Orchid cafe-bar from 12am everyday, including Thai and English food. We have BBQ's on the terrace in summer and live music every Thursday night.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

I’ve eaten here a few times now. At lunch times it is sometimes not clear if a) it is open b) they want customers or c) if the food is actually going to arrive.

When the food does come it is decent and the prices are reasonable. I think it suits big groups rather than popping in for lunch as when it is not busy it lacks atmosphere.

Thank Jarrse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thai O, Front Office Manager at Thai Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for your review, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent food and service here. We all agreed it was the best food we’d had in a while but the toilets upstairs are not good. As soon as you walk towards them behind a partition you see it’s where they’ve dumped all their spare stuff/office equipment! A quick tidy up and a nice curtain would solve this. Toilets were clean but had a huge hole behind the toilet showing all of the system?! Let’s the place down as it’s been refurbished lovely. Downstairs café is open all day for light bites and drinks, lovely decor too so we’ll be trying that out. Nice overlooking the river in to the evening. Fairly priced and want to try the Sunday buffet too. Would recommend.

Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thai O, Public Relations Manager at Thai Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thanks for your constructive feedback. We appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Firstly I specifically asked for prawn crackers which didn’t turn up on our delivery, so I called but they apparently don’t have any at all which would have been nice to know when I ordered them. I spent £35 on takeaway in which every single dish was actually disgusting, bland, luke warm and absolutely not up to standard. I am very disappointed, shame on you Thai Orchid

Thank KittensAndPonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thai O, Public Relations Manager at Thai Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

We know you were upset that we - very exceptionally - did not have complimentary crackers to offer you. The kitchen did not pass that on and we did not expect it because it doesn't usually happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

I took my family to the Sunday Buffet, not the kind of buffet that you help yourself. Served by waitresses that take your orders and you can eat as much as you want. We found the meal very tasty and good value for money Also it enables you to try different meals and if you like the meal, order more. The waitresses were very helpful and served with a smile (which makes a change) We all thoroughly enjoyed our meal and will visit again in the near future.

Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thai O, Public Relations Manager at Thai Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Wonderful, that is great to hear. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Fathers day treat by 3rd Child with Mrs A & 3rd childs GF . Only realised on way to restaurant that Sunday is Buffet Day , where you can order as much as you like from Set Menu all explained by staff when we sat down.
Nice Clean site, all staff very helpful , friendly and all had a smile !!!
Food was exceptional , hot , fresh and with a hint of heat won't give you a list but the Menu does seem to be thoughtfully set up this was our first time here but it won't be our last !!!
can certainly recommend the Sunday, although it was getting busy (13;00) the staff seemed to be able to cope which is reassuring for Customers .
Thank you all for a lovely experience see you very soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andyinkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thai O, Public Relations Manager at Thai Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Many thanks, we are really glad you enjoyed Fathers' Day with us. Thanks for your compliments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Orchid also viewed

 

Been to Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing