We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommended”
Review of Miller & Carter

Miller & Carter
Ranked #44 of 264 Restaurants in Basingstoke
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Amazing food and the cocktails where beautiful! Great service. Will most definitely going back!
Only downside was our bill at the end lol. I blame the cocktails.

1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We visited recently for my husband birthday meal, unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances we were going to be late so rang the Restaurant to say we were on our way but the Receptionist I spoke to was a little terse and said they were fully booked and would only hold the table for 20 minutes, we arrived 10 minutes late. The greeting was no very welcoming to say the least and the Restaurant didn't appear to be fully booked.
The Waitress/Waiter were very nice and friendly but we were sat for at least 10 minutes before we were offered any drinks.
The food was very good although they had run out of certain items, which really didn't matter at the end of the day.
The slow cooked beef was excellent
We would visit again as put this down to settling in period for the Restuarant.
Well done to the waiting staff..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 6950Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Very friendly service but not intrusive. Excellent food. A few issues with accompaniment to our butchers block not being available and being substituted with ribs instead. This may not have been a problem but we were never asked it was just delivered with the ribs. Thankfully they were very nice ribs. Lots of staff all dining their very best to be helpful. Liquor coffee also came as a liquor hot chocolate some how. Again not ideal but didn’t ruin our evening. Will definitely give them another chance whilst they figure things out as they’ve just opened.

Thank Swill80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Swill80, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Recently been a couple of times and the food has been good , we have had what we paid for on both accounts the service was good however a little slow but they were very busy , we had to keep catching the servers eye to make them aware we were ready to order each thing and then for the bill so it felt a little awkward . My only problem was the first time ever we paid an added vat amount onto the bill not only did we pay our food amount we paid an added 20% on top of our bill ?? Surely it should have stated we were just a little surprised as nowhere did it state online or on any menu and as it had never happened on any other occasion it was a little shocking to have 20% put on top when however we questioned it our server had dashed off and an older grumpier server stepped up and said it’s standard like service charge ?? What surely you cannot be claiming this, we had heard numerous people on this day questioning why they had also paid an added 20% on top when menu is set price right , after questioning the lady seemed content with her answer and asked off we were left to pay both the bill and money taken and no receipt handed back. Shocked just a little I’m not gonna lie the food was good but not worth adding a 20% to the bill on top and no our server did not get a tip !!! Many people were questioning a lady had to borrow from her friend sat in front of us we assumed because they’d over spent due to prices no probably because they hadn’t banked on the 20% added on top also !!!!

3  Thank RandomLouB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Randomloub, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Seated at a table that wasn’t laid up with cutlery, took a while for drink orders to be taken and then for drinks to arrive. Food order taken and was repeated back to us to prevent any errors.
Starters arrived and they were delicious, we asked for a side to be a starter and this was no problem and can highly recommend the tempura lobster and prawns!
Steak was delicious and cooked just how we wanted it, not sure what the lettuce wedge is all about though!
It’s not cheap, meal for two was over £70 but if you like decent steak this is a good place to go and can see it getting better once they have settled in and sorted out all the teething problems.

Thank Bev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller & Carter also viewed

Oakley, Basingstoke
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Kingsclere, Berkshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to Miller & Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing