We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucy Worsley at her best.”
Review of Haymarket Theatre

Haymarket Theatre
Ranked #10 of 27 things to do in Basingstoke
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We travelled from Hertfordshire to see Lucy at the Haymarket Theatre in Basingstoke. Although small, the intimate atmosphere made it feel as if we were just a group of friends sharing an evening together. It wasn't very expensive and the staff were lovely and friendly. I will definitely go back if there is something or someone playing here I want to see.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank honee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"intimate atmosphere"
in 2 reviews
"production"
in 3 reviews
"interval"
in 7 reviews
"tills"
in 2 reviews
"stalls"
in 3 reviews
"cubicle"
in 2 reviews
"stage"
in 3 reviews
"venue"
in 7 reviews
"play"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017

A cosy theatre located snap bang in the market place at Basingstoke. It has good accessibility and facilities for visitors. The staff were friendly and proficient in managing the crowds.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank SudakshinaKina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

I always like to support local and regularly see plays here. On Saturday afternoon, I saw Strictly Murder, a Talking Scarlet production which is usually very good. However, there was no programme (not even a photcopied cast list) and I think the small audience were 'short-changed'. The play started late ..should have been 2pm and then finished at 4pm with a 20 min. interval for £19.00.
I will continue to support the Haymarket but I fear some will be put off another visit.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank ex-sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We came to see The Witches of Eastwick which was very good. Cast were all excellent and all our party enjoyed it very much. So why only 3 stars? The theatre was freezing! No exaggeration - it felt like we were sitting in a fridge!!! We asked during the interval for the air conditioning to be turned off and the staff were very accommodation and said they were aware of the problem and it would be sorted. In the meantime if we wanted to move to seats elsewhere we were more than welcome to do so. However it was very cold everywhere so we chose to stay where we were (in the stalls). About 20 minutes from the end of the performance the theatre did warm up slightly but the rest of the show (which was about two and a half hours long) was spoilt by the cold. Haymarket theatre please take note: The theatre needs to be warmed up BEFORE the performance NOT 20 minutes from the end. I would definitely return again as this is a nice little theatre and the shows are usually very good. However I would check before coming that the heating had been sorted before setting out!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We parked in Festival Place car park £1 after 6pm which was great. There was a signpost there to the theatre but would be helpful if at least one more sign was placed on the road round to the theatre as we weren't sure we were going in the right direction.
The theatre is great. Only criticism is ground floor loos. One whole individual cubical marked gents, with proper toilet and two for ladies so while the inevitable theatre queue built up outside the door to the ladies there was an empty gents cubicle. Why not make that one unisex? Otherwise a great night out.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haymarket Theatre also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Sherborne St. John, Basingstoke
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to Haymarket Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing