We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Rock Concert

I really like this venue for sitting down events. It’s small, friendly, well maintained and... read more

Reviewed 24 October 2018
The_Benzings
,
Winchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Wishbone Ash

Nice cozy venue with good parking close at hand. Could have done with more staff in the upstairs... read more

Reviewed 24 October 2018
Paul W
,
Shepperton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 24 reviews
  
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
9
12
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
12
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews intimate atmosphere production interval stalls tills cubicle stage venue play
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2017

I always like to support local and regularly see plays here. On Saturday afternoon, I saw Strictly Murder, a Talking Scarlet production which is usually very good. However, there was no programme (not even a photcopied cast list) and I think the small audience were 'short-changed'. The play started late ..should have been 2pm and then finished at 4pm with a 20 min. interval for £19.00.
I will continue to support the Haymarket but I fear some will be put off another visit.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank ex-sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We came to see The Witches of Eastwick which was very good. Cast were all excellent and all our party enjoyed it very much. So why only 3 stars? The theatre was freezing! No exaggeration - it felt like we were sitting in a fridge!!! We asked during the interval for the air conditioning to be turned off and the staff were very accommodation and said they were aware of the problem and it would be sorted. In the meantime if we wanted to move to seats elsewhere we were more than welcome to do so. However it was very cold everywhere so we chose to stay where we were (in the stalls). About 20 minutes from the end of the performance the theatre did warm up slightly but the rest of the show (which was about two and a half hours long) was spoilt by the cold. Haymarket theatre please take note: The theatre needs to be warmed up BEFORE the performance NOT 20 minutes from the end. I would definitely return again as this is a nice little theatre and the shows are usually very good. However I would check before coming that the heating had been sorted before setting out!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We parked in Festival Place car park £1 after 6pm which was great. There was a signpost there to the theatre but would be helpful if at least one more sign was placed on the road round to the theatre as we weren't sure we were going in the right direction.
The theatre is great. Only criticism is ground floor loos. One whole individual cubical marked gents, with proper toilet and two for ladies so while the inevitable theatre queue built up outside the door to the ladies there was an empty gents cubicle. Why not make that one unisex? Otherwise a great night out.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

This was a terrific adaptation- very well executed with a small cast playing a numbers of parts.

Very true to the book. Good scenery, costumes and acting.

The only slight downside was there seemed to be a number of school parties in the audience - there were inconsiderate at times. It was all the more disappointing to see some of their teachers ignoring their students, preferring to check through their text messages.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank AndrewDeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We had a great evening & a good laugh at this venue to see The Full Monty & to show our support for BATS. Venue is lovely & clean, great location & seating was perfect. I do prefer this venue than The Anvil as it's more intimate!

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank nhanzg2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews