We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better but. ”
Review of The Black Dog

The Black Dog
Ranked #101 of 612 Restaurants in Bolton
Price range: US$4 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In 2016, the pub underwent an extensive refurbishment and now offers, what we believe to be the finest dining experience available in the area. Careful attention was given to retain the original characteristics of the building but still providing a contemporary feel inside showcasing an open fire, cosy en-suite accommodation rooms, outside beer garden in the lovely countryside area of Belmont Village. The country pub has added a new menu complimented with Gastro pub specials, a mouth-watering ice-cream parlour accompanied with freshly made desserts that is served throughout the year. For the drinkers, the pubs offers a vast array of premium spirits, selected fine wines and world beers to quench all taste buds.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The food has gotten better but the portions become smaller. I would not order the steak and mash we found it to be very fatty. I still think they need work

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank SincereAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Visited the black dog on Easter Bank Holiday Monday for some food as I had heard good things about the food and I can not deny it is good but was it worth the wait that is the question. I feel like they are extremely under staffed and there is much room for improvement in the service department. Food is good though, if you don't mind waiting for your starter to have digested by the time you receive your main course!!

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank calumbond4789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Ate here today and very disappointed considering we live close by. An hour and 10 minutes before food arrived with no pre-warning about any delays. When it did arrive, chicken tikka masala had 4 tiny pieces of chicken in, 3 of us ordered this and all the same! Mum sent sunday roast back, beef so burnt was inedible, replacement meal brought 15 minutes later when everyone else had finished. Desserts, cold ones brought out without much delay, however, son's hot dessert followed nearly 20 minutes later, when everyone else finished. Service very poor, no discount given due to poor food or huge delays, will not return which is a shame as we've been here many times before. Nowhere near as good as it used to be!

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank hold35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Speed of service seems to have slowed, quality is consistently good, quality of service good, beer very good, atmosphere nice, a warmly feel to the pub, I will go back and recommend

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank X8677QYjohnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Visited here a couple of weekends for an early Sunday dinner. We were lucky to get a table as someone was leaving just as we arrived as they were fully booked. We had to wait about 40 minutes for the food but to be fair they did pre-warn us of this -I had Wexford Chicken and my husband had steak in ale pie -both were pleasant enough but nothing too special. We loved the look of quite a few of the desserts and in the end plumped for a pear sponge and a bread and butter pudding -both again were ok. I wouldn't rave about the place but it was decent enough and is very local to me but is clearly super popular.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LJO71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Dog also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Black Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing