We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forgettable meal.”
Review of The Beehive

The Beehive
Ranked #69 of 282 Restaurants in Crawley
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner
Description: Located before security the Beehive provides a friendly and welcoming environment for all types of passenger as well as a wide selection of food and drink. We serve a range of traditional ales, craft beers, premium draught lagers, wines and spirits. Our menu includes pub classics, world flavours, burgers, sandwiches as well as our healthy and vegetarian options.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

First impression was it was a nice pub for an airport. But my visit soon went downhill, there was food on the floor and seats. The table was dirty. You find a table with a number on and order at the bar. The prices are such that i would expect a waiter to take my order. We didn't have to wait long for a pretty average pie and chips (nice pastry on the pie) and some chips and salad, a beer and a J20 and i had parted with £25. A pint of San Miguel £5.05, really.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beehive6583, Manager at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback

We strive to achieve a high standard of cleanliness within our pub and are very sorry that this was not the case on your visit.
Ordering at the bar is the standard practice within Wetherspoons however we also encourage our costumers to use our order and pay App for those who prefer table service.
Thank you for noticing our good level for speed of service, and quality of pastry.
Though our prices are higher than the high street we still try to be the best value for money within the Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

We were staying in a nearby hotel and chose to eat in the airport. This bar is part of the Wetherspoon's chain which is always good value, however prices are slightly higher at the airport and not such an extensive menu as one in town. We both had lasagna with salad and drinks for £25.
Handy if you would prefer not to eat in your hotel.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Taxidevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beehive6583, Manager at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback

Unfortunately we are slightly more pricy compared to our high street pubs but we strive to remain the best value for money within Gatwick Airport.
Our Menus have been tailored for the airport to help with the speed of service, this has led to a slightly smaller range of food available but we still try to maintain a higher standard.
hope to see you again on your next visit to Gatwick Aiport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

I've travelled out from Gatwick about 4 times in the last 8 months & each de had an evening meal in the Beehive. The staff are friendly - very helpful & efficient. The menu is good & the food very acceptable. The beer choice is usually good too.

Thank greeneland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beehive6583, Manager at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank you for giving us a great review

We are very happy to hear that as a regular flyer that you have enjoyed our selection of food and drinks,
and have seen us maintain the good level of service that we strive for.

hope to see you on your next trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Travelling at Gatwick South Terminal and had breakfast at the Beehive.
Breakfast was awesome and tasty. Its a true English breakfast. I would definitely eat here again. and their lattes are great. This is one of few places that still serve black pudding for breakfast.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beehive6583, Manager at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such amazing feedback.

We are always happy to hear when our customers truly enjoy our breakfasts and tasty coffee's.
Looking forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Clean and not too busy with friendly and efficient staff. As mentioned in another review, it is much quieter than the airside Wetherspoons. A great place to have a bite, a drink and meet up before your flight.
Usual pub menu but more expensive than normal.

Thank Whoknowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beehive6583, Manager at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Thank you for your feedback
Always good to hear that we are maintaining a good standard of service and experience for our customers within the Airport.
Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beehive also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 
Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 
Crawley, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing