We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast / brunch”
Review of The Cold Harbour

The Cold Harbour
Ranked #22 of 430 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Situated just off the A419 in Swindon and next to a Premier Inn Large Restaurant dining area and further space to dine in our bar area. Great choice of Menu offering lunch and evening meal deals, fantastic selection of main meals and seasonal specials. Nice size garden for the summer.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been for dinner many times but this weekend just before Christmas we went in for Breakfast - great choice and very taste. Was served by the lovely Hayley who made sure we had a good and safe time.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Discover783672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Cold Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1 327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 1 327 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2021 via mobile

We had a lovely meal at the cold harbour just before the lock down. Couldn’t fault the service at all, very professional and friendly! All staff were happy and smiling all the time! Food was amazing and cooked to perfection! Can’t wait to visit again once restrictions are lifted!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Samsims10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Cold Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2021

Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021 via mobile

Had a fabulous meal on Christmas Day! The food was great and the services excellent. Thank you Sharon and your Team.
Will definitely be back once you’re able to open.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank milly2972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at The Cold Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2021

Thank you for your kind words and so glad you enjoyed your time with us on Christmas Day. Look forward to seeing you again soon when we reopen. Take care Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2020 via mobile

We normally treat our daughter to a trip to the cinema on Christmas Eve but as this wasn’t an option this year I booked into Pizza Hut . Last minute I decided to change to The Cold Harbor as I thought it would be more of a festive atmosphere
Sadly we were disappointed . On entry no cheerful greeting, just a stressed out looking lady stating we would be 3rd in line to be served . Not a problem for us , we were sat in a dark corner which apart from a couple decorations in the corner & a cracker each you wouldn’t of guessed it was Christmas .. Lovely waitress but drinks order were sent incorrectly & considering we preordered all food it took 50 mins for starter to arrive
Starter was fine but main meal was awful..
Roast potatoes looked like they’d been cooked the day before & reheated , meat was tasteless. The vegetables were the only thing that was nice
Dessert was fine , except my daughter’s order was wrong
Paid bill
Yet again no Christmas cheer in conversation
When we got home we had to call & tell them we had been overcharged as deposit we paid when booked hadn’t been taken off
I know times are difficult at the moment but the restaurant wasn’t busy & I’ve been here before & it’s always been lovely

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank christinabub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roccohicks, General Manager at The Cold Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2020

Sorry to hear you felt your visit here was not up to our normal standards, we are very surprised to read all your comments as we have had many guests state how beautiful the decorations looked in the pub this year and we even have 3 Christmas trees up. No member of my team were aware of a problem with any food that day, they even mentioned that all they tables had a check back, which is our standards and no one mentioned a wait on food or an issue with quality. Not sure how the pre order was incorrect as you enter these details before your visit, is this correct?. We are sorry you felt that we were not our cheery selves but this shouldn't have been the case at all. I can only apologise. I presume you called me that evening to sort out the deposit refund. Hope you had an enjoyable time over the festive season and look forward to making amends with your next visit. Kind Regards Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2020 via mobile

Great Xmas day lunch and friendly service from Courtney. Brilliant gluten free options too, 2nd year we visited for Xmas day.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Cold Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2020

Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cold Harbour also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Cold Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.