We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!”

The Jewel In The Crown
Ranked #1 of 427 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The award-winning Indian restaurant in Swindon
Reviewed 10 September 2021

We had a lovely dinner at The Jewel and Crown. The atmosphere was great as was the food. Bosco was a hilarious waiter who only improved the experience!

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank P8273SDalexandram
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1 284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 1 284 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2021

Delicious food, the menu offered excellent choices for a party, which consisted of Vegan, Vegetarian and Gluten free requirements. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 649heatherb649
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2021

Both the food and service was excellent, highly recommend and will definitely be back again soon.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank taralX3197EJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2021

I went with my partner on Saturday 21 August for dinner and this was my second visit to this lovely restaurant.

The staff welcomed us warmly into the wonderful interior, which is lavishly furnished with amazing chandeliers and comfortable arm chairs. We wanted to change our table as we were next to a ramp which had a succession of diners and waiters walking past us. This was no trouble at all and done graciously and quickly to a quieter table.

The menu is huge and when our food came it did not disappoint. I had chicken passanda and my partner had chicken tikka masala. We had several vegetable dishes and naan bread. There was a tray on the table with a selection of delicious lime pickle, onions, mango chutney and raita.

All the dishes were authentic and absolutely delicious! The use of spices is fantastic and their naan bread really light. The food is brought to your table on little trolleys and served in copper pots on to lit hot plates to keep the food hot during your meal.

For pudding I had (hot) gulab jamun and my partner had lychees. Both these were quite yummy and it was the first time I had hot gulab jamun and they were sublime!

During our meal some delightful people sat on the table next to us. We started up a conversation and all their food looked amazing. They both said it was excellent!

This was a wonderful evening and just lovely to go out following lockdowns and be treated to a first class eating experience. I can thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys gracious service and delicious Indian food!!!

We will definitely visit this fine restaurant again and look forward to another lovely evening!!!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank janeypt-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2021

Very efficient and helpful staff. Delightful food. A complimentary drink after the food to wash it down. Very much appreciated. Will definitely go there soon again.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank billyk849
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Jewel In The Crown also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Jewel In The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.