We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, very good meal”
Review of Wheatstone Inn

Wheatstone Inn
Ranked #47 of 344 Restaurants in Gloucester
Price range: US$5 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We offer a contemporary, gastropub mixture of cuisine. From a full English breakfast served 7am-9am daily, to a 3 course evening menu meal, including duck, venison, chicken makani tiffin and game pie. We also cater for those leisurely and quick business lunches offering burrito's, sandwiches, soups and light bites.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I know it is attached to Premier Inn and it has standardised menus.
But when visiting for dinner this week, I walked over from Barnwood in a very sunny 28°C, sat in the bar, had a cold drink, did some work, watched the World Cup and enjoyed a nice meal. It was nice and relaxed, and the lad on bar served and looked after me well, excellent service.

There was a good selection of meals at reasonable prices. The food served was very good and tasty. Chicken gougons, followed by steak and finished off with a refreshing trio of ice cream.

All in a very pleasant evening.

Thank campbellmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Team Leader at Wheatstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi campbellmacd,

Thank you for such a lovely review.

We are pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable visit with us. We always aim to deliver great service and food and love hearing when we have done this.

We hope that if you are back in the area again you will come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to try this Premiere Inn for a change and the pub beside seemed Ok, Breakfast is great and the girl on duty very nice and friendly, tried the pub for evening meals and disappointed this day and age frozen foods

There is that many suppliers that deliver fresh foods that it dumbfounds me why they have to relate to frozen foods, I asked are the onion rings hand made and fresh ! Nope was the answer even these are frozen

WHY, What a shame

Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Team Leader at Wheatstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Robert,

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our food in the evenings, and we will certainly pass your feedback about fresh vs frozen on to our company food development team for review. At site level, however, we have to stick to the order lists and product specifications we are set.

On the plus side we are glad you enjoyed breakfast, and found our staff to be friendly and welcoming.

We do hope that you would consider visiting us again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed next door at the Premier Inn so convenient. Pleasantly surprised by the quality and presentation of the food (seafood grill and a summer bowl with sea bass). Our last experience of using a restaurant next to a Premier had been awful, hence our trepidation. The staff were friendly and helpful and all in all a very nice experience. Thank you.
Would definitely recommend.

Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Team Leader at Wheatstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jane,

Thanks for the lovely 5* review.

We are so pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations on both food and service. We pride ourselves in delivering high standards in both areas so it makes our team really happy when we know we have done this.

We hope you will visit us again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best part of visiting the Wheatstone was the waiter called James.
He was very polite and nothing was to much trouble
He went out of his way to explain the menu as we waited to mix it up slightly.
He was chatty and smiley and it was a pleasure to have met him
Great food and great service

Thank richandjulie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Team Leader at Wheatstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi richandjulie10,

Thank you so much for the great 5* review!

I have passed your comments on to James and the rest of the team. It always makes us really happy when we hear a member of our team has delivered fantastic service like this. We’re also really proud of our kitchen team and the quality of the food they send out of the kitchen.

We hope we will see you again really soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As we stayed in the Premier Inn next door,we found it very convenient to have both breakfast and evening meals in the Whetstone. Our first dinner was really tasty...the menu is huge and varied....something for everyone.The service was good....all staff we met were friendly and helpful....nothing too much trouble.Breakfast the next morning was busy as it was a Saturday,but we found a table with no trouble and everything on the buffet table was good apart from the fried eggs which were rubbery I'm afraid.However ,you could order poached eggs cooked fresh for you which we did the following two mornings,and in fact on the Monday morning all the cooked food is done to order.The fruit salad was lovely!
All meals we had in the restaurant were well cooked,well presented and tasty.

Thank stickiesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Team Leader at Wheatstone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi stickiesurrey,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. It was our absolute pleasure to look after you while you were staying at the Premier Inn.

We look forward to welcoming you back, next time you are in the area. Hopefully our fried eggs will be better then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wheatstone Inn also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucestershire, England
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Birdlip, Cotswolds
 

Been to Wheatstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing