We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a really nice location”
other travellers have booked this property
Somewhere to kick off your walking boots
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Somewhere to kick off your walking boots
garden and seating seating areas - the outside steps are optional Thornton Beck runs next to Holly Beck Stables
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Somewhere to kick off your walking boots
garden and seating seating areas - the outside steps are optional
Thornton Beck runs next to Holly Beck Stables
Garden view
cosy yet light and airy sitting room
a lovely big table to plan your day
a well equipped kitchen with all you need - just add food
Plumped pillows and downy duvet
luxurious robes and toiletries
Wake every morning in your very own little piece of heaven
Snooze a little, read a little, grab a coffee and read a bit more.
spacious shower room filled with luxury toiletries
garden seating in a sunny spot
a cosy summerhouse to chill, take in the evening sun and listen to the rippling stream
al fresco dining on a sunny patio
stream side garden
garden
front view of house
just ring the bell
enter the village
Shaw Mills, lots of walking, cycling or just sit and take in the view!
walking down the lane
garden view of Thornton Beck
nearby Ripley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Harrogate, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kevin F
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a really nice location”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a 3 night stay in May. The cottage was beautifully presented with bags of character yet all modern conveniences. We were made very welcome by Kath and David. The location was excellent with the lovely town of Harrogate just 10 minutes or so drive away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking time to give such a lovely review, it is much appreciated.. Looking forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mr Gerald...
1 review
“A gem of a cottage”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We really enjoyed our short stay at this lovely cottage. Everything to make your stay perfect has been thought of from the welcome hamper to all the up to date local information. There were lots of walks and places to visit on the doorstep. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend and can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are looking forward to your return and David has some fabulous walks lined up!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sailinn
UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“5 star holiday cottage”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We loved our time at Holly Beck stables. I agree with all the previous reviews in that this is a lovely place to stay. The property is extremely well equipped, beautifully decorated and furnished and spotlessly clean. I so appreciated the luxurious bedding, the extremely comfy bed, the fluffy dressing gowns and our welcome hamper. The location of the property is ideal in that it is so peaceful and quiet yet offered so much walking in beautiful countryside right from the doorstep. There are many places worth visiting within driving distance such as Castle Howard, York and Harrogate. Can also recommend Fountains Abbey and Bolton Abbey as well as drives in the Dales themselves. Kath and David are a lovely genuine couple and take such pride in their holiday home. It was hard for both of us to leave after our 2 week holiday but hopefully we can return next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for taking the time to give such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsieV559
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our midweek stay [August 22nd to August 26th] in this beautifully restored 'Stables' cottage apartment. I always spend a lot of time researching places to stay before booking a holiday and we usually hit it lucky, but this little gem has to be our best find yet.
The location is ideal,situated in stunning countryside close to Harrogate,Ripon and Knaresborough and not far from York ,Skipton or Leeds. Both the Yorkshire Moors and Yorkshire Dales are easily accessible,with the coast not too far either.You are spoiled for choice with the beautiful walks and great attractions nearby. Lots of tourist information including maps[and even a pair of binoculars!] is provided.
The accommodation itself is beautiful.The setting is very pretty with a nice sitting out area. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed, with great attention to detail and everything superb quality.The furniture is lovely, with a great comfy bed.There is a log-burning stove, two TVs with DVD players, Wi-Fi , CD player/radio etc,The only thing missing, the absence of which could actually be a bonus when on holiday, is a reliable mobile phone signal.
The owners are a really lovely couple,very welcoming ,and you feel they really do care that you have a good holiday. Meeting Kath was like making a friend,and David was also really friendly, happy to share his local knowledge and tips
I could go on listing all the lovely things about this spotlessly clean, top quality accommodation but will leave people to discover it for themselves.Just hope it's available for us when we want to come back-we would love to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to give this lovely review. It is very much appreciated. Looking forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing