We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5* & Literally 'Home from Home' cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pontganol Cottage

Pontganol Cottage - graded as a 4 star property by Visit Wales
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pontganol Cottage - graded as a 4 star property by Visit Wales
The cosy little cottage sits behind an exterior stone wall, providing an enclosed garden The calming and contemporary master bedroom with original fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Pontganol Cottage - graded as a 4 star property by Visit Wales
The cosy little cottage sits behind an exterior stone wall, providing an enclosed garden
The calming and contemporary master bedroom with original fireplace
Bath products - and a handy spot for resting a book, or glass of wine!
Looking towards the summerhouse, perfect for pottering round and enjoying the sunshine.
The large landing gives a feeling of space
Contemporary metro tiles behind the semi-circular shower enclosure, and a view to the mountains
The roll-top bath with views of the stars - just add yourself, bath products and wine!
A detail of some hanging hearts, looking into the master bedroom
The living room by day - great for relaxing and planning your day
View from the summerhouse towards the cottage - enough space to play, or relax
The little summerhouse, perfect for reading the Sunday papers with a coffee and a croissant!
The painted wooden country cottage kitchen
Feel free to move the garden furniture around to make the most of the sun!
The farmhouse-style table in the kitchen/diner - perfect for breakfast, brunch, lunch & dinner!
Llangynidr mountain - perfect for walking and looking for red kites
The kitchen has everything you need to be a master chef, or just pop to the local pub!
The bespoke Welsh slate sign, Pontganol means 'middle bridge'
The cosy living room with woodburning stove, snuggle up and make yourself at home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangynidr, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mikazaki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5* & Literally 'Home from Home' cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We had two adults and two boys; 4yr old & 2yr old and had a fantastic time even with the April showers. We stayed for two weeks during the Easter period and was greeted with fresh flowers around the cottage, and a lovely basket of Easter treats for the kids & adults. The kids also loved the gifted sheep bath toys which was a super touch, overall the kind of service you get from a 5* hotel/villa/cottage stay.
As soon as you see the outside and inside of the cottage it was true to the pictures on the website which is rare theses days. unfortunately we had to quickly childproof the place before our kids got too comfy!

Our Tesco driver found the cottage with no issues which was super after a very long 4 hours drive. However i found some of my shopping wasn't required ie. washing up liquid, hand wash, cling film, foil, etc as this cottage is literally a 'home from home' as it was all provided, even the bin bags and dish washer tabs!!!

The decor goes fantastically with the original features, the super cute notes scattered around the cottage are a great touch and an absolute time saver as i don't normally read the welcome folder untill day two!!
I loved the stone floor in the kitchen which had been lovingly restored by the owner & the quirky bathrooms character.
Now i know my boys loved the giant been bags and the lovely garden but us being the big kids had fun with the Wii.
The kids had ample space with the snug and landing area, as well as the outside space come rain or shine, and had the bonus of the old tractor to explore!
The cottage came with a basket of kid friendly activities underneath the stairs ie. colouring, arts & craft materials, various toys which was great but we had already brought along similar items (another reason why 'home from home')
We could not fault the wifi as the kids were happy!
The beds were comfy and options to have feather or regular pillows and duvets was a great touch.

Location was great and central for us to explore the lovely villages nearby, steam railway, castles, the breath taking mountain scenery and the local area was great to explore on foot but best of all we was in the beautiful Beacons National Park! We even had day trips to Swansea, Cardiff, and so much more. Its a super hub to explore Wales!!!

The owners communication with us was fantastic, both before and during our stay. We welcomed her to pop by which was a delight to put a face to a name, but also her knowledge of the history of the cottage was lovely and surprising to hear .

This place will always be special to us as its where our youngest said 'I Love You' for the first time.
This cottage is definitely one that i will be recommending and returning too in the future come rain or shine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Dear Mika and Zaki (and your parents!),
Thank you so much for your gorgeous review - I'm really touched that you had such a lovely time at the cottage, and so glad that your stay was made even more special by hearing those words from Zaki - amazing! You did so much during your stay, I'll definitely be encouraging guests to explore as far afield as you. I'm so glad I could pop in and see you during your stay and it was so lovely to see you all enjoying the cottage, and pick up some lovely drawings too (thanks Mika and Zaki!). If you ever fancy a break in Wales again, then the cottage (and I) would love to see you!
Thanks again,
Hilary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike4342
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The easiest 5 star rating I have ever given”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

A lovely cottage full of beautiful homely touches in an incredible area for stunning walking. The cottage was particularly useful for us as there were walking guides and maps galore. Picnic hampers, coffee flasks, access to the vegetable garden and the coffee machine were some of the many many touches that made our stay so welcoming and comfortable.

As my wife has several food allergies, we find that self catering is the safest bet. But the Coach & Horses public house (a nice shortish walk away) was exceptional in being able to cook dishes from scratch and modify them if needs be. The food quality was excellent there too.

As another reviewer put it, we just wish that the cottage was our own home. Loved every minute of our time here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Hi Mike and Caroline,
Wow - thank you so much for your lovely kind words about the cottage. I am genuinely so pleased that you enjoyed your time both at the cottage and outside exploring the local area. Thanks once again - it's absolutely lovely to hear that guests have enjoyed their breaks. Please do come back and stay again!
Kind regards,
Hilary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice home from home”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second time at the cottage. It's wonderful with everything you need and could possibly want, right down to the welcome bubbly and Welsh chocolates. The cottage has been fully refurbished and in spotlessly clean with every amenity you'd expect in a holiday cottage. We'll be back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Hi Steve,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your second stay at the cottage, and that it provided everything you needed for your holiday. I'm already looking forward to welcoming you back again!
Kind regards,
Hilary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff H
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“All you could wish for”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

So good you want to keep it a secret! The cottage itself is delightful and is in a very convenient location for the Usk Valley Trail, the 143 bus stop, and local pubs. This pretty cottage is extremely well equipped, particularly in terms of kitchen equipment / utensils, maps and books, toiletries, and even basic groceries, and well furnished. ! Hilary (the owner) provides holidaymakers with the most hospitable welcome I've ever experienced - a personal card, treats for you and your dogs, and the opportunity to help yourself from the kitchen garden. It really is a home from home as virtually everything you need is there for you to use. Has to be one of the best, if not the best, holiday rental I've ever visited.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extremely well equipped
Liked least: No downstairs loo
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Dear Geoff,
Oh wow - thank you so much for your incredibly lovely comments about the cottage and I'm so pleased you had a great time there (and the dog too!).

I genuinely want Pontganol Cottage to feel like a home-from-home for guests, so I'm particularly glad that's how it came across.

Please do come back and stay again - you would be very welcome indeed.

Kind regards,
Hilary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_P4...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fabulous, comfortable, tastefully modernised cottage.”
Reviewed 27 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We felt so lucky to find this property. It is one of those rare rental cottages where, from the moment you walk through the door, you feel at home. It has been very tastefully modernised,
with great attention to detail. Every utensil you could possibly need and numerous artefacts dotted about with interesting information about the renovation. The large double bed was very comfortable. The wifi was faster than we have at home!
We stayed in November, in the rain, but that gave us the excuse to use the log burner which made the place even more cosy! In summer, it would be equally tempting as there is a lovely garden with room for barbecue and large vegetable plot to which guests have access. There is also off-road parking for two cars and very friendly neighbours!
The location was perfect for us as there are wonderful walks, even from the front door, not least of which includes the canal towpath. Local villages are all very pretty, with many pubs, cafés and food shops.
Hilary, the owner, made us feel very welcome and was obviously anxious to make our stay a most enjoyable one - thank you, we'd love to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable furnishings.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Dear Robert,
Thank you so much for your very kind words about the cottage (and me!). My apologies I've taken so long to reply, but I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time in the cottage and the local area.

I'd be delighted if you do want to return - so maybe you'll just have to visit in summer next time to avoid the rain (though sun in Wales in the summertime obviously isn't guaranteed either!).

Thanks again,

Kind regards,
Hilary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing