We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Granville Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Waterford Marina Hotel(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
US$200
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dooley's Hotel Waterford(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Woodlands Hotel(Waterford)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 465)
Filter reviews
1 465 results
Traveller rating
902
387
113
38
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
902
387
113
38
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporridgeirish whiskeyold world charmhistoric hotelold stylecie tourthe riverwonderful hotelthe hotel managerwaterford crystalthe pubbreakfast was excellentviking trianglecar parkfull irish breakfastbar foodhotel bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1 465 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived for a 3 night stay in early March. Waterford was still dealing with the aftermath of a significant snow storm. Check in was quick and easy. They even sent someone out across the street with my husband to help collect the luggage. It was very nice of them to do, certainly above and beyond what we expected.

We had a standard room, and it was huge! Very clean and comfortable. Large bathroom with a tub. They also had complimentary bottled water, which we were happy to have after our drive in. Housekeeping did an excellent job every day, and even left us a few packets of biscuits for our tea. Very nice treat to find after a day of running around.

On our way out, we stopped at the front desk. The young man at the desk was very friendly and helpful. He spent some time going over the map, suggesting places to visit, and also where we could find some great coffee. (Blackfriars.). Certainly made us feel very welcome!

Our reservation included dinner at Bianconis each night, as well as breakfast. The food and service were faultless. I cannot say enough good things about it.

We were very happy with our stay, and I would absolutely stay here again if we are ever are able to return to Waterford.

The snow had caused a lot of disruptions throughout Ireland. Several of the staff members at the Granville had been there for days. That had to be stressful. Everyone we encountered was very friendly, warm, and professional. So much so, it would have been impressive under normal circumstances I have to give them great credit for such grace under fire.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank irelandherewecome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review and for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed the food and facilities during your stay with us. It's a pleasure to hear that the Granville team made you feel so welcome and looked after and that you felt they went above and beyond. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Granville Hotel again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The breakfast in this hotel is amazing. Great cold buffett with home baked ham, bread and jams and marmalades. Cooked buffet, with Kippers & Plaice and any way you want eggs, choice of other cooked items or full Irish which is huge! Served by very friendly staff to the table.
They do a lunch buffet but it was down at the very back of the bar beside the toilets, so not very pleasant. A lot of older people queueing so space was limited.
Room was basic but comfortable, bit of an issue with the size of the room not enough
space to put things. Its a very old building of course.
Location fantastic right on the quay.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 3rd floor views over the River Suir
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your generous feedback and for taking the time to post your review. For the many aspects of your stay you have mentioned, your kind comments are very much appreciated. I'm very glad to hear you thought so highly of our breakfast offering. Carvery is normally very busy, but we normally have additional seating areas available to alleviate this issue. Thanks once again and we hope we can welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family was on a Globus Tour and were caught in a snow storm and had the good fortune to be stranded at the Granville for two extra nights. The hotel and entire staff was outstanding!! If anyone is going to Waterford this IS the only place to stay! The manager and owner were on site and very helpful.

Room Tip: We had three rooms in different areas of the hotel and they were all good sized.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What a lovely account of your recent stay with us- thank you so much. We are so pleased you enjoyed the experience and we appreciate all your kind words. We try to create a warm and welcoming environment for all of our guests and after reading your review I feel we have succeeded on doing so. Hopefully we'll get a chance to welcome you back in the future.

All the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a room at this hotel at the last minute via an online travel agent for a great price. Based on what I paid, I wasn't expecting much, but WOW! When we checked in and got to our room, it was a triple -- three beds! -- with a living area, a vanity area and a bathroom so large it had two showers (one with a bathtub), as well as two separate sinks. The beds were super comfy, and the decor is stunning, especially in the lobby area.

Breakfast at the onsite restaurant is a don't-miss event, complete with alcohol-spiked porridge and full Irish breakfast.

The staff is super friendly and helpful, too. They gave us information on parking and even called an attraction in our next destination to make sure it was open before we left!

I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley-Kosciolek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful, glowing account of your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to look after you and to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience is music to our ears! We aim to provide a top class service from check in to departure and our entire team work very hard to ensure this for all our guests. We like to offer a breakfast experience, it's great to hear that you enjoyed it.

Thank you also for your kind recommendation. We hope that you may have the opportunity to return to us for another visit before too long,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night on our tour of the UK in Sept. 2016. This was our first night in Ireland.I loved exploring all the nooks and crannies of the lovely, charming hotel. Service was excellent. Facilities were immaculate. The dinner was elegant and wonderful, followed by Irish coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Detailperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfordhotel, General Manager at Granville Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Granville hotel. It's great to hear you enjoyed the old world charm the hotel has to offer and that you enjoyed dining with us.

I will certainly make sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team. We hope we get to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews