We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality visit”
Review of Waterford Crystal

Waterford Crystal
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16,57*
and up
House of Waterford Crystal Guided Factory Tour
Ranked #4 of 65 things to do in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally founded by George and William Penrose in 1783, Waterford crystal is world-renowned for quality and beauty. Have you seen someone blow molten crystal into a vase? Check out the factory tour. Visitors are guided through the factory to see experienced craftsmen at work, creating new crystal pieces. The factory is open to tours, contact the company for details.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Worthwhile visit to see the factory in action with really skilled craftsmen (and women) making beautiful crystal. Some of it is rather bling but other pieces are really beautiful (in my view). Good guides explained everything well without rushing.

Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBUR1, Tour Team Lead at Waterford Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Stevie M,

We are delighted you took a tour through our factory and found it to be a "Quality Visit". It is amazing to tour through the factory and see our craftsmen working at such close proximity creating crystal pieces right in front of your eyes!. Our guides who will be delighted to receive such high praise. We hope you will have the opportunity to return and visit us again in the future.


Kind regards,

The House of Waterford Crystal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3 135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"factory tour"
in 237 reviews
"whole process"
in 57 reviews
"glass blowing"
in 99 reviews
"great tour"
in 200 reviews
"each piece"
in 91 reviews
"beautiful pieces"
in 90 reviews
"skilled craftsmen"
in 33 reviews
"working factory"
in 40 reviews
"informative tour"
in 87 reviews
"various stages"
in 31 reviews
"for sale"
in 73 reviews
"gift shop"
in 101 reviews
"first hand"
in 33 reviews
"tour takes"
in 38 reviews
"from start to finish"
in 62 reviews
"on display"
in 126 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 112 reviews
Filter

45 - 49 of 3 137 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a worthwhile tour—informative, lengthy & plenty of time for questions. Our tour guide was enthusiastic and very knowledgeable. Was very surprised at all the “one off” creations they build—for sports events but also corporate awards.
Also surprised at # of different designs of crystal over the years. If you come to Waterford, definitely make time for this stop. Bit pricey at 28 Euros.

Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBUR1, Tour Team Lead at Waterford Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Gary,

We are very happy you enjoyed your tour and found your guide to be "enthusiastic and very knowledgeable". It is lovely to see all of the one of pieces being created alongside our core production pieces here in the factory, You certainly don't know what you might come across in the factory it could be anything from The Irish Open golf trophy to a hand sculpted replica grand Piano. Thank you for taking the time to review your visit here on Tripadvisor.

Many Thanks,

The House of Waterford Crystal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Meghan was our tour guide and she was very knowledgeable. We had a small group so we weren't rushed looking at all the different stages of the process in the making of all beautiful pieces that Waterford are famous for.

Thank mamajax24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBUR1, Tour Team Lead at Waterford Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi mamajax24,

Thank you for rating us a "Must in Waterford". We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us here at the House of Waterford Crystal. Meghan is a great guide we are very happy you enjoyed being guided through the factory with her, Megan will be delighted with your comments. We hope you get to return again and visit us in the future.

Many thanks,

The House of Waterford Crystal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place has a wonderful tour and there is so much to learn. The crystal is beautiful, everyone was nice and friendly, and it was an overall great experience.

Thank pattymelt28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBUR1, Tour Team Lead at Waterford Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you pattymelt28,

We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us here and found the experience "fascinating". Our team here at the House of Waterford Crystal will be very happy with your lovely comments. Thank you for taking the time to review your visit here on Tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you back some time again in the future.

Many Thanks,

The House of Waterford Crystal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped in Waterford specifically to visit the House of Waterford and learn about the crystal-making process. I had been around 10 years ago, and the tour was still great and they've definitely updated it! You're able to hold some truly unique pieces, including golf and basketball trophies, and a piece of the New Year's Eve ball from New York City! The best part of the tour is of course watching the skilled artisans hard at work on their craft. Makes you look at the crystal in a whole new light!!

Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBUR1, Tour team Lead at Waterford Crystal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Erin H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your tour with us here on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you returned again to take a tour with us. It is always interesting to see the variety of pieces that our craftsmen are working on, and it really is lovely when you recognise a trophy or presentation piece being made or on display it makes the experience all the more special. The tour really does give you an appreciation of our crystal created by our master craftsmen using skills learned over many years. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

The House of Waterford Crystal Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterford Crystal also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Waterford Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing