We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ard na Mara House

The beautiful Ardna Mara house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beautiful Ardna Mara house.
Interior fixtures of an exceptionally high quality View from the shore.  Stones throw from the house.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The beautiful Ardna Mara house.
Interior fixtures of an exceptionally high quality
View from the shore.  Stones throw from the house.
Open plan - high spec kitchen and utility.  Fresh Milk provided....
A shower to die for!
The local beach
A taste of the inside finish.  Exterior has since been painted and photos will follow.
Breathtaking views just a 10 minute drive away.
The fireplace and focal point for the lounge.
The rear of the house and summer room.
One of two double rooms with En suite.
The rooms are light and airy throughout.
One of two spacious twin rooms.
All of the beds are memory foam.
The house is in the shadow of Croagh Patrick.
Inside of the summer room.  A direct view of 'The Reek'.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Westport, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Ken E
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I can highly recommend staying here. House is beautiful and spacious and so peaceful. Near to all amenities. There will be a warm welcome from John on arrival and throughout your stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorsMomm...
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fell in Love with the house”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had the most amazing stay at Ard na Mara. Very comfortable accommodations throughout, but the best of the best was the sunroom. Our morning were made very special in that room. John made our welcome complete and thorough. The view included sheep in the morning ..... so Irish and charming. With The Tavern just down the hill, you could walk to a delightful dinner every night. The view of the Croagh Patrick was stunning and the bays surrounding the area, equally as beautiful. We have relatives in the area and when we return, I am booking Ard na Mara .... it was that glorious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sunroom
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace C
1 review
“Perfect base for exploring Connemara and Mayo”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Spent 4 nights here with 2 small children and my parents. Was home away from home, well equiped including all the basics even fresh milk! Bright, quiet and lovely views of Croagh Patrick, very near Westport and also some lovely beaches really nearby. Heaps to do nearby, Hopefully we'll get back again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peace, space and great showers.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pomfretia...
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a very comfortable house in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A very well equipped house that is well placed for sightseeing in the beautiful area of Clew Bay. The house is light and airy with modern up to date eqipment and extremely comfortable beds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the comfort offered by the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul18633...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fresh,new,well appointed,well located,convenient place”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were 6 walkers - all guys - sharing Ard na Mara House.
It was ideal for us. Plenty big enough,well appointed with 3 bathrooms and big sized rooms.
Open plan kitchen / living. All new (couple of years old).
I'd had reservations about the location,being out of town by about 10 minutes,but as it turned out it was the best choice as we ate at the Tavern most nights - it was good pub food- we didn't think we could find a better place to eat in town, and just 3 minutes walk away.
The beach isn't a stones throw away - not unless you've got a strong arm - but only a couple of minutes walk the other way and what a view !
We climbed Croagh Patrick which looms up from the kitchen window. Nice to be able to see whether it's shrouded in mist.
The only downside was no wifi and difficult phone reception (but I guess you come to these places to get away from that).
All in all a great long weekend, and by the way Clew Bay is amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the en-suite bathrooms
Liked least: no wifi !
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$244
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing