We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helped us even thought they were fully booked ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden Gates B & B
Ranked #5 of 18 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We were doing a motorbike tour of the West Coast of Ireland and had nowhere booked. We arrived in Castlebar on Saturday evening and found nowhere available due to a long bank holiday weekend. We tried plenty of hotels and B&Bs. Called the Garden Gates who were also fully booked but helped us with a cottage available for the night. The cottage was lovely private and clean. Thank you so much you were a life saver.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

A beautiful house in beautiful grounds. A lovely warm welcome from Martina and Larry and of course Honey the bloodhound (who is outside). The rooms are clean and soooo comfortable. I had the best nights sleep in the wonderfully large bed. The breakfasts are great, lots of choice should you stray from the full Irish and homemade jams and cake all served with warmth and great humour. We have become fast friends with them both and feel like we are coming home when we visit. So relaxed we didn't want to leave. Oh and a great base to explore Mayo.

Room Tip: check the website for pictures as all have a theme e.g. Rose is decorated in red. All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Nice clean rooms with modern en suite and comfortable beds, generous tasty breakfast, calm and beautiful location, friendly host, easy parking - what's not to like? Definitely a good option well worth a detour.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

The location is in a peaceful and quiet area, that had a welcome feeling when you opened the front door. The rooms were very clean and extremely comfortable. Our hosts were helpful, friendly, and caring but still gave us enough space so they weren't intrusive. Just a nice relaxed setting that welcomes you. Breakfast was very good and I would stay with them again when in the area. We had a beautiful sunny day to the mountain.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Very friendly welcome; comfortable and clean room, fantastic breakfast, friendly hosts, felt like home. Peaceful and quiet location but not far from the main road.
The daily afternoon cake in our was a lovely surprise. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emmamtp2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
6.9 km away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 9 in Castlebar
898 reviews
10.2 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
990 reviews
7.7 km away
Carragh House
Carragh House
#3 of 18 in Castlebar
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Connaught Inn
The Connaught Inn
#9 of 18 in Castlebar
92 reviews
6.0 km away
Rocksberry Bed & Breakfast
Rocksberry Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 18 in Castlebar
37 reviews
6.4 km away
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Gates B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Gates B & B

Address: Rinnaseer | Islandeady, Castlebar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range: R397 - R715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden gates is approx 10 minutes drive from both Westport and Castlebar in the county of Mayo.We are a country bed & breakfast offering tranquil accommodation positioned in a wonderful location, ideal for exploring the west coast of Ireland and all its beautiful countryside inc Croagh Patrick and the National Museum of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden Gates B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing