We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden Gates B & B
Ranked #5 of 18 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Nice clean rooms with modern en suite and comfortable beds, generous tasty breakfast, calm and beautiful location, friendly host, easy parking - what's not to like? Definitely a good option well worth a detour.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2017

The location is in a peaceful and quiet area, that had a welcome feeling when you opened the front door. The rooms were very clean and extremely comfortable. Our hosts were helpful, friendly, and caring but still gave us enough space so they weren't intrusive. Just a nice relaxed setting that welcomes you. Breakfast was very good and I would stay with them again when in the area. We had a beautiful sunny day to the mountain.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Very friendly welcome; comfortable and clean room, fantastic breakfast, friendly hosts, felt like home. Peaceful and quiet location but not far from the main road.
The daily afternoon cake in our was a lovely surprise. Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emmamtp2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I stayed in The Garden Gates recently, and I can honestly say it is the best B&B I have stayed in to date.

The beautiful house is situated halfway between Westport and Castlebar, and only a short drive to either town. There is a lovely driveway leading up to the house, with beautiful trees outside the house. My room (named 'Rose') was huge with a King Size bed, and was beautifully decorated in rose and red tones. The bathroom was also large and well stocked with shampoo, shower gel, towels, face cloths etc. There were tea and coffee making facilities, and two slices of home made cake waiting for me in the room on arrival. Breakfast can be pre-ordered and there was a large range of choices available. I had fruit salad and yoghurt, then scrambled egg and smoked salmon, which was delicious.

This B&B is as good as any hotel in the area, with the added benefit of Martina's friendliness and hospitality. I can highly recommend it, and will definitely stay here if I am visiting Castlebar again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairec13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

The owner was very nice, friendly and helpful, they were very accommodating. It's set in a beautiful tranquil location. There is a great selection for breakfast and tailored to individuals needs, it was fresh, home cooked and really tasty! We would really recommend it.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Deeoflaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
6.9 km away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 9 in Castlebar
899 reviews
10.2 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
990 reviews
7.7 km away
Carragh House
Carragh House
#3 of 18 in Castlebar
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Connaught Inn
The Connaught Inn
#9 of 18 in Castlebar
92 reviews
6.0 km away
Rocksberry Bed & Breakfast
Rocksberry Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 18 in Castlebar
37 reviews
6.4 km away
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Gates B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Gates B & B

Address: Rinnaseer | Islandeady, Castlebar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range: R397 - R715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden gates is approx 10 minutes drive from both Westport and Castlebar in the county of Mayo.We are a country bed & breakfast offering tranquil accommodation positioned in a wonderful location, ideal for exploring the west coast of Ireland and all its beautiful countryside inc Croagh Patrick and the National Museum of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden Gates B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing