We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss this b&b.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden Gates B & B
Ranked #5 of 18 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2016

If you are visiting Westport, this b&b is a must stay. There are very few 5 star B&B's. This must be the best.
Martina and Laurence are the ideal hosts.
The property was designed and built as a guest house so the rooms are large and well appointed
The breakfasts are a gastronomic delight.
Will definitely return.
Ideal location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way.

Room Tip: The rooms vary as to the size of the party. Any room is worth the stay. The down stairs room is desi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

The owners of the b&b absolutely spoil you with a warm welcome, home made breakfast, any info you need. The rooms were clean, spacious and have everything you need. I would definitely recommend the garden gate.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Tine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

What a beautiful place . Fantastic rooms . Fantastic breakfast. Unfortunately only stayed one night but would definitely recommend this place
Ideal location close to Westport .
So peaceful and friendly.
Well done .
Perfect.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank paulajcoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

i stayed at the Garden Gates for one night while climbing Croagh Patrick. It's is a perfect location for touring the region, half way between castlebar and Westport. Martina and the family are highly professional and welcoming. I felt at home immediately and the breakfast was amazing. I left my iPhone is charger behind and martins went to the bother of sending it back to me immediately by post. It's the little things that matter. When I return to Mayo I won't consider anywhere but this place.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian26978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Located off the beaten path, almost midway between Westport and Castlebar, this was a delightful 2 night stay on our circuit from Dublin to Belfast to Donegal, here, then on to Doolin. Martina could not have been a nicer hostess, from her first welcome with tea to advice on where to dine and what to see. She provided excellent directions too! Our room was very comfortable and looked over a lovely view of meadows where the sun set behind distant hills. The bath was spacious with fast hot water and a "power shower." Breakfasts were delicious. The very best Irish breakfast of our two weeks in this beautiful country.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Molly066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
6.9 km away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 9 in Castlebar
900 reviews
10.2 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
990 reviews
7.7 km away
Carragh House
Carragh House
#4 of 18 in Castlebar
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Connaught Inn
The Connaught Inn
#10 of 18 in Castlebar
92 reviews
6.0 km away
Rocksberry Bed & Breakfast
Rocksberry Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 18 in Castlebar
37 reviews
6.4 km away
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Gates B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Gates B & B

Address: Rinnaseer | Islandeady, Castlebar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range: R402 - R724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden gates is approx 10 minutes drive from both Westport and Castlebar in the county of Mayo.We are a country bed & breakfast offering tranquil accommodation positioned in a wonderful location, ideal for exploring the west coast of Ireland and all its beautiful countryside inc Croagh Patrick and the National Museum of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden Gates B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing