We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$160
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Connaught Inn(Castlebar)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rocksberry Bed & Breakfast(Castlebar)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar(Castlebar)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$117
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TF Royal Hotel and Theatre(Castlebar)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ivy Tower Hotel(Castlebar)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Woodview Lodge Bed & Breakfast(Castlebar)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$94
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village(Castlebar)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carra Caravan and Camping Park(Castlebar)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$21
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
86
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsstay there againfull irishcomfortable bedsmartinapathsmayohostscottage
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2015

We stayed here during our trip around Ireland.. a lovely bed and breakfast situated in lovely surrounds. the hosts are most helpful, letting us know all the important things we could see in the area. if you are visiting I would recommend seeing the country life museum, a very special place! the bedrooms are well kept at this establishment, and the breakfast was standard of irish hospitality and we were happy with it.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We stayed at the Garden Gates this past March and could not have more pleased. Martina and her family were wonderful hosts. The food was splendid and the company and conversation exceptional. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Martina and staff were so friendly. The bedroom was large and well appointed. There was everything we needed. Lovely slices of cake instead of the usual biscuits. Welcoming atmosphere everywhere. Wonderful breakfasts. Hot and perfectly prepared. We recommend this home from home to everyone. The lovely quiet area is just perfect for a get away from it all holiday. Westport and Castlebar are both near by with access to beaches, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Witchylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Martina was a gracious and generous hostess. We used The Garden Gates as a base for 5 nights to explore the Northwest of Ireland. She is in a great location to explore the areas of Galway, Mayo, and Donegal. Every evening she allowed us to relax in her comfortable family room. We felt welcomed and a part of her family. She arranged a lovely dinner at the Pantry & Corkscrew in Westport which we loved! The breakfast prepared for us each morning was delicious and presented with care. The variety was perfect - everything was fresh. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable. I can only give very high praise for our experience at The Garden Gates!

Room Tip: You need a car to take advantage of this location. No elevator (lift) so not accessible to physically challenged.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yayaAlyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Great place to be for a very reasonable price. The owner gave us all in all a feeling of being welcome, the rooms were good, some are bigger, some not. But alas, who would complain? Breakfast is excellent, weather can be unpredictable, but it's in the West...
If you are very sensitive about the sounds of other guests take some ear plugs. But I will definitly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FoolOfHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews