We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B&B in a lovely location, halfway between Westport and Castlebar.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden Gates B & B
Ranked #5 of 18 Castlebar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We had a most enjoyable four night stay in The Garden Gates. Our room (Rose) was so large,comfortable and well decorated with a most comfortable bed. The rooms are called after flowers which is so much nicer than numbers! The bathrooms all have power showers, with lots of hot water, and fresh towels daily. We had tea and coffee facilities with lovely lemon cake each day. The breakfast menu was extensive, including pancakes, smoked salmon, cooked breakfast as well as good orange juice, cereal, yogurt and a bowl of fresh fruit. The coffee was very good indeed. Martina is so friendly and helpful, and always had time for a chat. The attention to detail by Martina is very evident. I could not recommend this B&B highly enough, and we are looking forward to a return visit

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HelenFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2015

We stayed here during our trip around Ireland.. a lovely bed and breakfast situated in lovely surrounds. the hosts are most helpful, letting us know all the important things we could see in the area. if you are visiting I would recommend seeing the country life museum, a very special place! the bedrooms are well kept at this establishment, and the breakfast was standard of irish hospitality and we were happy with it.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We stayed at the Garden Gates this past March and could not have more pleased. Martina and her family were wonderful hosts. The food was splendid and the company and conversation exceptional. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Martina and staff were so friendly. The bedroom was large and well appointed. There was everything we needed. Lovely slices of cake instead of the usual biscuits. Welcoming atmosphere everywhere. Wonderful breakfasts. Hot and perfectly prepared. We recommend this home from home to everyone. The lovely quiet area is just perfect for a get away from it all holiday. Westport and Castlebar are both near by with access to beaches, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Witchylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Martina was a gracious and generous hostess. We used The Garden Gates as a base for 5 nights to explore the Northwest of Ireland. She is in a great location to explore the areas of Galway, Mayo, and Donegal. Every evening she allowed us to relax in her comfortable family room. We felt welcomed and a part of her family. She arranged a lovely dinner at the Pantry & Corkscrew in Westport which we loved! The breakfast prepared for us each morning was delicious and presented with care. The variety was perfect - everything was fresh. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable. I can only give very high praise for our experience at The Garden Gates!

Room Tip: You need a car to take advantage of this location. No elevator (lift) so not accessible to physicall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yayaAlyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebar
6.9 km away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 9 in Castlebar
898 reviews
10.2 km away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
990 reviews
7.7 km away
Carragh House
Carragh House
#3 of 18 in Castlebar
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Connaught Inn
The Connaught Inn
#9 of 18 in Castlebar
92 reviews
6.0 km away
Rocksberry Bed & Breakfast
Rocksberry Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 18 in Castlebar
37 reviews
6.4 km away
Lough Lannagh Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Gates B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Gates B & B

Address: Rinnaseer | Islandeady, Castlebar, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Castlebar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Castlebar
Price Range: R397 - R715 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden gates is approx 10 minutes drive from both Westport and Castlebar in the county of Mayo.We are a country bed & breakfast offering tranquil accommodation positioned in a wonderful location, ideal for exploring the west coast of Ireland and all its beautiful countryside inc Croagh Patrick and the National Museum of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden Gates B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing