We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem, came away happy that I had picked the...”
other travellers have booked this property
There is no fire like your own fire.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
There is no fire like your own fire.
Our lodges The children's play area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
There is no fire like your own fire.
Our lodges
The children's play area
The adventure area for the older children
Plenty of space
The View
The View
The View
The Mountain Bike Park nearby
The Gate Lodge near the lodges. great walking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Specops47...
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem, came away happy that I had picked the right place to stay”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ballyhoura Mountain Lodges are perfect if you want to do some outdoor activity with your kids or friends. The lodges are spacious, well equipped, and clean. They don't try to do it cheaply, everything you need is there from matches to tea towels and Ita, the lady in charge, is just a really nice person to deal with.
I brought my teenagers to try out the mountain bike tracks and they loved it, even the 8 year old could go on the new skills tracks at the base of the hills. What made the stay was the location of the lodges. There are some lovely walks through the woods, you can cycle over to the bike tracks, and there is a lovely little pub down the road. Perfect.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2016
Thank you James for the lovely comments and I'm delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see ye back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samnitro
N. Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, spotless lodges and friendly manageress (Ita).”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Good points : Lodges 9 and 10 were spotless and well equipped for all our needs, we were a group of 6 lads (from 58 to 25ish) competing in a 4x4 winch challenge event in the Ballyhoura forest so location was good and clothes washing/drying facilities were well used. Multi-fuel fires/stoves were great, especially the one in Lodge 9...but be prepared to feed it well as it has some appetite for logs etc.

No bad points.....but a few 'issues' lol.
• Nothing I would consider as bad. Other than the multi-fuel fires, the main form of heating is storage radiators...not great and very costly to run. The en-suite wc in lodge 10 seems to work well.....but be prepared to be in there quite a while before it is safe to let someone else in after you........let's just say it doesn't eat 'logs' as well as the fires...lol....sorry, but true !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Hi Sam, Thanks for your review. House 10 has a few improvements due and an extractor for bathrooms in on the list. As for the stove, it gives out great heat but you need to close the drafts in it to slow down the burning time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestofIre...
West of Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Get Away From It All”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in a 3 bedroom lodge and some extended family stayed in another just 20 yards away. The lodges were spacious, clean, well equipped and comfortable. The lady in charge, Ita, is welcoming and very helpful and is on hand to sort any issues or answer any queries. The location is quite remote, it took a little getting used to, especially for young ones who are used to all the high tech, on line gadgets to keep themselves entertained. It was a refreshing change to get away from this although there is wifi at the reception which guests can use at any time. The local pub is only a short walk and is a friendly drop in place. The walks are spectacular, through wooded landscape and the younger children were delighted with the play area which had a swinging basket and zip wire. The great advantage of the stay was that the lodges are pet friendly and we had our dog with us. The nearest shop is approximately 8km away, so stock up when you go! We cooked large family meals in the lodge and ate out only twice in a good Chinese restaurant in Kimallock (approx. 15km) and in a rather disappointing pub/restaurant in Mitchellstown. The latter is the largest town in proximity to the lodges. Family things to do include a visit to Mitchellstown Caves, go-karting in "Kartworld" near Fermoy and Fota Island Wildlife Park. There are plenty of sporting activities - cycling, kayaking, fishing and orienteering for those more energetic! The weather, although wet at times did not dampen our holiday which was very enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Peace and Quiet
Liked least: The distance from shops
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedthed0g
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A piece of heaven to unwind in.”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent the May holiday weekend at Ballyhoura Mountain lodges near Ballyorgan.
The lodge was spacious, comfortable and warm. There is also a large stove. Make sure to bring some fuel. Ita, the Manageress, had kindly left some kindling to start the stove. The kitchen is very well equipped if you want to cook but we just used the microwave to heat stuff up as we were only staying 3 days. The lodges were spotless and we had plenty of hot water for showers etc. But at the end of the stay the star of the show is its location which is beautiful. Location is a bit tricky so make sure you bring a sat nav or map.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Relaxing in fromt of the stove with a glass of wine
Liked least: Tricky to find.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola L
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy Get Away”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I traveled with my sister, brother in law and our kids, the third week in July. The lodges were lovely and had everything you could possibly need - if you could think of anything that was not there Ita could get it for you! Great central location for all the activities we wanted to do and something in the area for all the family. We particularly enjoyed the horse riding at Ballyhoura Horse Trails. Also a 10% discount was available when we stayed for the Bicycles, horse riding and Mitchlestown Caves!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great Location
Liked least: No Phone coverage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing